Letters

Letters 08-03-2015

Real Brownfields Deserve Dollars I read with interest the story on Brownfield development dollars in the July 20 issue. I applaud Dan Lathrop and other county commissioners who voted “No” on the Randolph Street project...

Hopping Mad Carlin Smith is hopping mad (“Will You Get Mad With Me?” 7-20-15). Somebody filed a fraudulent return using his identity, and he’s not alone. The AP estimates the government “pays more than $5 billion annually in fraudulent tax refunds.” Well, many of us have been hopping mad for years. This is because the number one tool Congress has used to fix this problem has been to cut the IRS budget –by $1.2 billion in the last 5 years...

Just Grumbling, No Solutions Mark Pontoni’s grumblings [recent Northern Express column] tell us much about him and virtually nothing about those he chooses to denigrate. We do learn that Pontoni may be the perfect political candidate. He’s arrogant, opinionated and obviously dimwitted...

A Racist Symbol I have to respond to Gordon Lee Dean’s letter claiming that the confederate battle flag is just a symbol of southern heritage and should not be banned from state displays. The heritage it represents was the treasonous effort to continue slavery by seceding from a democratic nation unwilling to maintain such a consummate evil...

Not So Thanks I would like to thank the individual who ran into and knocked over my Triumph motorcycle while it was parked at Lowe’s in TC on Friday the 24th. The $3,000 worth of damage was greatly appreciated. The big dent in the gas tank under the completely destroyed chrome badge was an especially nice touch...

Home · Articles · News · Music · Interlochen 2011 lineup
. . . .

Interlochen 2011 lineup

- May 2nd, 2011
Interlochen’s Summer Concert Series caters to every interest
Interlochen’s most happenin’ season in years brings several new cultural
icons to the Arts Festival this summer, along with some old favorites.
The former includes the likes of revered songwriter Elvis Costello, the
indie acoustic pop of The Decemberists, alt-country chanteuse Lucinda
Williams, and country rocker Dierks Bentley. The latter offers
Interlochen veterans such as Leo Kottke, The Temptations, The Beach Boys,
and Garrison Keillor’s “A Prairie Home Companion,” which is reputed to be
on track for retirement after this season.
For the classic rock crowd, Interlochen will offer the recently-revived
sounds of Steely Dan along with perennial hit-meisters, Chicago. Youthful
audiences will enjoy a reprise of indie rockers Guster; while if mood is
your thing, check out the sensitive sounds of Broadway star Adam Pascal or
folkie Rufus Wainwright.
Stage acts this season include the soaring modern dance of the Trey
McIntyre Project, the toe-tapping Irish Fest with Leahy and Cathie Ryan, a
performance of “The Merchant of Venice.,” and “Bubblemania,” a Blue Man
Group-style take on soap bubbles.

Tickets: Now on sale at the Box Office at the Interlochen campus or by
phone: 231.276.7800 or 800.681.5920. Tickets can also be ordered online
at: https://tickets.interlochen.org.

Who’s Playing:
Saturday, June 18: Garrison Keillor, A Prairie Home Companion
Tuesday, June 21: Elvis Costello and the Imposters
Saturday, June 25: The Temptations
Wednesday, June 29: Kurt Elling
June 30-July 3: Shakespeare‚ The Merchant of Venice
Saturday, July 2: The Capitol Steps
Sunday, July 3: World Youth Symphony Orchestra
July 7-10: Shakespeare‚The Merchant of Venice
Thursday, July 7: Emerson String Quartet
Sunday,July 10: World Youth Symphony Orchestra with Time for Three
Tuesday, July 12: Interlochen Collage
Wednesday, July 13: Lucinda Williams and Amos Lee
Friday, July 15: Dat Phan, comedian
Saturday, July 16: Leo Kottke
Sunday, July 17: Tan Dun conducts the World Youth Symphony Orchestra
Thursday, July 21: Adam Pascal
Friday, July 22: Interlochen Irish Fest featuring Leahy & Cathie Ryan
Sunday, July 24: World Youth Symphony Orchestra with Nathan Gunn
Monday, July 25: Trey McIntyre Project
Tuesday, July 26: The Beach Boys
Wednesday, July 27: The Decemberists
Thursday, July 28: Dierks Bentley
Sunday, July 31: Andreas Delfs conducts the World Youth Symphony Orchestra
August 4-7: Carousel
Friday, August 12: Rufus Wainwright
Saturday, August 13: BubbleMania!
Monday, August 15: Steely Dan
Aug 15, 17 & 20: Enso String Quartet
Wednesday, August 24: Chicago
Friday, September 2: Guster


 
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 
 

 

 
 
 
Close
Close
Close