Letters

Letters 07-25-2016

Remember Bush-Cheney Does anyone remember George W. Bush and Dick Cheney? They were president and vice president a mere eight years ago. Does anyone out there remember the way things were at the end of their duo? It was terrible...

Mass Shootings And Gun Control The largest mass shooting in U.S. history occurred December 29,1890, when 297 Sioux Indians at Wounded Knee in South Dakota were murdered by federal agents and members of the 7th Cavalry who had come to confiscate their firearms “for their own safety and protection.” The slaughter began after the majority of the Sioux had peacefully turned in their firearms...

Families Need Representation When one party dominates the Michigan administration and legislature, half of Michigan families are not represented on the important issues that face our state. When a policy affects the non-voting K-12 students, they too are left out, especially when it comes to graduation requirements...

Raise The Minimum Wage I wanted to offer a different perspective on the issue of raising the minimum wage. The argument that raising the minimum wage will result in job loss is a bogus scare tactic. The need for labor will not change, just the cost of it, which will be passed on to the consumer, as it always has...

Make Cherryland Respect Renewable Cherryland Electric is about to change their net metering policy. In a nutshell, they want to buy the electricity from those of us who produce clean renewable electric at a rate far below the rate they buy electricity from other sources. They believe very few people have an interest in renewable energy...

Settled Science Climate change science is based on the accumulated evidence gained from studying the greenhouse effect for 200 years. The greenhouse effect keeps our planet 50 degrees warmer due to heat-trapping gases in our atmosphere. Basic principles of physics and chemistry dictate that Earth will warm as concentrations of greenhouse gases increase...

Home · Articles · News · Music · Interlochen 2011 lineup
. . . .

Interlochen 2011 lineup

- May 2nd, 2011
Interlochen’s Summer Concert Series caters to every interest
Interlochen’s most happenin’ season in years brings several new cultural
icons to the Arts Festival this summer, along with some old favorites.
The former includes the likes of revered songwriter Elvis Costello, the
indie acoustic pop of The Decemberists, alt-country chanteuse Lucinda
Williams, and country rocker Dierks Bentley. The latter offers
Interlochen veterans such as Leo Kottke, The Temptations, The Beach Boys,
and Garrison Keillor’s “A Prairie Home Companion,” which is reputed to be
on track for retirement after this season.
For the classic rock crowd, Interlochen will offer the recently-revived
sounds of Steely Dan along with perennial hit-meisters, Chicago. Youthful
audiences will enjoy a reprise of indie rockers Guster; while if mood is
your thing, check out the sensitive sounds of Broadway star Adam Pascal or
folkie Rufus Wainwright.
Stage acts this season include the soaring modern dance of the Trey
McIntyre Project, the toe-tapping Irish Fest with Leahy and Cathie Ryan, a
performance of “The Merchant of Venice.,” and “Bubblemania,” a Blue Man
Group-style take on soap bubbles.

Tickets: Now on sale at the Box Office at the Interlochen campus or by
phone: 231.276.7800 or 800.681.5920. Tickets can also be ordered online
at: https://tickets.interlochen.org.

Who’s Playing:
Saturday, June 18: Garrison Keillor, A Prairie Home Companion
Tuesday, June 21: Elvis Costello and the Imposters
Saturday, June 25: The Temptations
Wednesday, June 29: Kurt Elling
June 30-July 3: Shakespeare‚ The Merchant of Venice
Saturday, July 2: The Capitol Steps
Sunday, July 3: World Youth Symphony Orchestra
July 7-10: Shakespeare‚The Merchant of Venice
Thursday, July 7: Emerson String Quartet
Sunday,July 10: World Youth Symphony Orchestra with Time for Three
Tuesday, July 12: Interlochen Collage
Wednesday, July 13: Lucinda Williams and Amos Lee
Friday, July 15: Dat Phan, comedian
Saturday, July 16: Leo Kottke
Sunday, July 17: Tan Dun conducts the World Youth Symphony Orchestra
Thursday, July 21: Adam Pascal
Friday, July 22: Interlochen Irish Fest featuring Leahy & Cathie Ryan
Sunday, July 24: World Youth Symphony Orchestra with Nathan Gunn
Monday, July 25: Trey McIntyre Project
Tuesday, July 26: The Beach Boys
Wednesday, July 27: The Decemberists
Thursday, July 28: Dierks Bentley
Sunday, July 31: Andreas Delfs conducts the World Youth Symphony Orchestra
August 4-7: Carousel
Friday, August 12: Rufus Wainwright
Saturday, August 13: BubbleMania!
Monday, August 15: Steely Dan
Aug 15, 17 & 20: Enso String Quartet
Wednesday, August 24: Chicago
Friday, September 2: Guster


 
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 
 

 

 
 
 
Close
Close
Close