Letters

Letters 05-30-2016

Oaks & Moths All of last week’s letters regarding recommendations for the best native plants from “Listen to the Experts” from the previous week were right on target. Those who are interested in learning more about native plants, and their importance to birds, bees and butterflies, would do well to read Dr. Douglas Tallamy’s wonderful book, Bringing Nature Home...

Poor Grades On Standardized Testing We have been enduring standardized testing for the last few weeks as our district isn’t allowing for opting out without student removal. I think other parents need to know and the district needs to address their own inconsistencies in policy...

Beware Trump  To describe Trump: hubristic, narcissistic, misogynistic, sociopathic. There are more descriptors. Should we pity this misfit or fear that his values attract such a large segment of our society? Hitler was spawned in the ferment of economic unrest...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Stacking The Deck For Tax-Generating Development

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Recently I had the opportunity to meet a friend for an early evening cocktail on the tenth floor of Traverse City’s Park Place Hotel. We soaked up the beautiful view of Grand Traverse Bay and enjoyed identifying landmark buildings along the skyline.
 
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Water Woes

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Go back to 2001 and 2002, when the DEQ helped decide it would be a swell idea to let Nestle, a Swiss-based conglomerate and the largest seller of bottled water in the world, suck groundwater out of Mecosta County and sell it as Ice Mountain. Lots of water; a whopping 400 gallons every minute.
 
Saturday, May 21, 2016

The Plot To Hijack Our Minds

Other Opinions Isiah Smith But this is not yet another tiresome essay fuming about the evils of Trump, or about how Republicans, by their irrational hatred for President Obama, made inevitable the rise of Trumpism. Hatred begets hatred, and people often get the leaders they deserve.
 
Saturday, May 21, 2016

The One

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Soccer is the most popular sport in the world. By any metric, it just is. More people watch it on television (more than 3.2 billion people tuned in to watch at least some part of the 2014 World Cup finals), more people watch it in person, there are more leagues in more countries, more professional and amateur players, more everything.
 
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Remembering One Of 58,220

Other Opinions Jack Segal Memorial Day is coming up soon. If the weather’s good, there’ll be picnics, BBQs, family and friends. Only a few of us will take our kids to a ceremony marking the sacrifices that the day is supposed to commemorate. Only a few will fly a flag.
 
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Checking Up On Trump

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Our choices are being whittled down to the two oldest, least liked presidential candidates in history. One has a history of misogyny, bankruptcy and xenophobia while being accused of fraud in civil court. The other might be indicted on criminal charges during the campaign.
 
Saturday, May 7, 2016

A Local Pastor And A Local Atheist Debate The Upcoming Presidential Election — Prophecies Fulfilled?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Twenty years ago I’d watch the “Jerry Springer Show” and laugh. Not a healthy laugh; more a “shaking the head in disbelief ” smirk, the kind reserved for carnival midways. A mix of amusement and disdain. Today I no longer laugh. The world of Jerry Springer is our world!.
 
Saturday, May 7, 2016

With Friends Like These...

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Our relationship with them began long before our supposed alliance following 9/11. They had lots of sweet crude oil that required minimal refining and we needed some of it. As long as that need existed we were happy to play the role of oil serf to their monarchy.
 
Saturday, May 7, 2016

Wedlock

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian It’s wedding season in northern Michigan. Unless you live under a rock — a really big one — you know that our culture has been engaged in a furious debate over who should and should not be allowed to marry. Those who read my words regularly might expect me to wade hipdeep into the fray.
 
Saturday, April 30, 2016

Why Schools Are Closing

Other Opinions Grant Parsons There was a time when we raised up bright leaders on our shoulders, when politicians smiled and school kids with batons led the parade, glancing at each other to keep in step, and the sun shone brightly and men’s pant legs flapped like flags and...
 
Saturday, April 30, 2016

Stop It

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Gum wrappers, drink cups, cigarette packages, beer cans, plastic bags; anything that should have been thrown in a garbage can is tossed on the ground by unthinking dunderheads. And if not on the ground then in the water. The Boardman River has yielded furniture, appliances and plenty of tires.
 
Saturday, April 23, 2016

Busy City

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle A redesign study of Division Street from 14th Street to Grandview Parkway with goals to improve safety, slow traffic, reduce congestion and become more pedestrian friendly is complete (if you’re wondering how slowing traffic will reduce congestion and where all those pedestrians are, you’re not alone).
 
Saturday, April 23, 2016

A Closer Look At School Funding

Other Opinions Christie Minervini There has been a lot of discussion surrounding Traverse City Area Public Schools’ (TCAPS) decision to close two — possibly three — elementary schools over the next two years. Officials have blamed decreasing revenues, aging facilities, and declining enrollment for the needed closures.
 
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Nuclear Nightmares

Other Opinions Jack Segal After the attacks on Paris in November 2015, authorities discovered video surveillance footage of what appeared to be an ordinary residence. But further investigation revealed that the house being monitored belonged to a senior official of the Belgian nuclear industry.
 
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Nobody Learned A Thing

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle On March 9, an African-American family and some friends in Wilkinsburg, Pa., were having a backyard cookout on an unusually warm day. Two gunmen crashed the party. While one herded the partygoers into the backyard, the other waited and methodically shot them, killing six and wounding three others.
 
 
Close
Close
Close