Letters

Letters 02-08-2016

Less Ageism, Please The January 4 issue of this publication proved to me that there are some sensible voices of reason in our community regarding all things “inter-generational.” I offer a word of thanks to Elizabeth Myers. I too have worked hard for what I’ve earned throughout my years in the various positions I’ve held. While I too cannot speak for each millennial, brash generalizations about a lack of work ethic don’t sit well with me...Joe Connolly, Traverse City

Now That’s an Escalation I just read the letter from Greg and his defense of the AR15. The letter started with great information but then out of nowhere his opinion went off the rails. “The government wants total gun control and then confiscation; then the elimination of all Constitutional rights.” Wait... what?! To quote the great Ron Burgundy, “Well, that escalated quickly!”

Healthy Eating and Exercise for Children Healthy foods and exercise are important for children of all ages. It is important for children because it empowers them to do their best at school and be able to do their homework and study...

Mascots and Harsh Native American Truths The letter from the Choctaw lady deserves an answer. I have had a gutful of the whining about the fate of the American Indian. The American Indians were the losers in an imperial expansion; as such, they have, overall, fared much better than a lot of such losers throughout history. Everything the lady complains about in the way of what was done by the nasty, evil Whites was being done by Indians to other Indians long before Europeans arrived...

Snyder Must Go I believe it’s time. It’s time for Governor Snyder to go. The FBI, U.S. Postal Inspection Service and the EPA Criminal Investigation Division are now investigating the Flint water crisis that poisoned thousands of people. Governor Snyder signed the legislation that established the Emergency Manager law. Since its inception it has proven to be a dismal failure...

Erosion of Public Trust Let’s look at how we’ve been experiencing global warming. Between 1979 and 2013, increases in temperature and wind speeds along with more rain-free days have combined to stretch fire seasons worldwide by 20 percent. In the U.S., the fire seasons are 78 days longer than in the 1970s...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Lives At Risk: The White Midlife American

Other Opinions Mary Rogers No doubt you’ve heard that Americans are living longer, healthier lives. Between 1970 and 2013, a combination of behavioral change, prevention, and treatment brought down mortality rates for those aged 45–54 by 44 percent. This is good news, right? Yes, if you are black or Hispanic.
 
Saturday, February 6, 2016

No Correct Answer

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle workers, and disciplinarians but without damaging anyone’s delicate self-esteem. All the while they are captive to ever-changing curricula mandates and new, improved standardized tests every couple of years. When they’re finished with all that they might have a little time to do the actual teaching they thought they were signing up to do.
 
Saturday, January 30, 2016

Eavesdropping In Northern Michigan Bars

Other Opinions Mark Pontoni Eavesdropping in small town bars can be hilarious, uplifting, depressing, and humiliating. As such, on cold winter nights in northern Michigan, it is the most rewarding and cheapest form of entertainment.
 
Saturday, January 30, 2016

Anxiety And Depression Are Affecting Us

Voice From the Next Generation

Other Opinions Jillian McCreery-Piotrowski This is how 10–15 percent of all teenagers feel every day. According to I Need a Lighthouse, a depression and suicide awareness program, approximately 20 percent of teens experience depression before they reach adulthood.
 
Saturday, January 23, 2016

No Falling Skies

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle If there is a problem, it’s that no president has unraveled the nightmare that is the defense procurement system wherein every project takes years longer and billions more to complete than we’re told.
 
Saturday, January 23, 2016

Iran Lurches Forward

Other Opinions Jack Segal The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) confirmed January 16 that Iran had completed the steps required to begin to lift nuclear sanctions imposed by the UN.
 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Hero Worship

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian We have a hero problem in the United States. On any given day, top news stories are mostly about television stars or sports figures. If politicians make particularly stupid comments or break the law, they make the cut.
 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Legislative Creatures

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Thanks to the legislature and Governor Snyder, local government entities will no longer be able to communicate with the voters in any way within 60 days of an election impacting them. No explanation of the ballot issue, no advocacy, not even a copy of the actual ballot language or simple information about the location and hours of polling places.
 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Crossed

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate Is Secularism A Belief System?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Rev. Meyers: In Coralville, Iowa, our children participated in a school district event creating a “mock” community. Students played shopkeepers, bankers, civic leaders, police officers, or fire fighters. Others functioned as consumers, taking advantage of the services provided.

Singer: One of this country’s fundamental founding principles is the absolute separation between church and state. To me, that seems simple; Congress can neither establish nor prohibit religious exercise. Unfortunately many religious people want more. They are convinced that any prohibition to their specific public behaviors should be illegal.

 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

Truth Is In That Grave

Other Opinions Grant Parsons Just outside Washington, D.C., at Quantico National Cemetery, civilian and military volunteers walk between the rows of gravestones with armloads of pine wreaths tied with red bows. The grass green, the sky blue, the ranks of gravestones straight and true — sentinels, sentinels, sentinels silent now.
 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

A League Of His Own

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The majority group believes his poll numbers are overstated, a result of researchers using a target universe including all Republican voters instead of those most likely to vote. On the other side are those now claiming Trump’s support is understated because many of his supporters are embarrassed to admit it.
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

Questions 2016

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle While some are resolving to do — or not do — all manner of things they won’t end up doing — or stop doing — the New Year seems a more likely time for questions. As always, there are plenty of them..
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

The Checkbook And Calendar Never Lie

Other Opinions Christie Minervini With the New Year upon us, I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on the notion of “voting with our dollars.” This was again brought to light when Traverse City’s Bill Marsh Automotive Group pulled its United Way employee giving program because it learned that Planned Parenthood was a grant recipient.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Make A Wish

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian It’s the season to dream. Children everywhere imagine the toys and treats on Christmas, yet parents walk a careful line. We want our children to have the joy of surprise and magical feelings of granted wishes. It’s a delight to watch young children discover gifts they never imagined.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Safest Place for Christmas

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We seem to have almost made it to Christmas without those darned liberals trying to kill it. At least they are accused of attempting to do so every year around this time. Since no one is trying to kill it this year, we’ve been mercifully spared any books by anyone claiming to save it.
 
 
Close
Close
Close