Letters

Letters 06-20-2016

More About Kachadurian Columnist Tom Kachadurian’s recent fit to slash out at the world of science and scientists is just another example of his profound ignorance and shallowness...

Love Wins Wow! Donald Trump scares me! He is a nasty individual who has the one thing that makes him dangerous…money! If he becomes president, the U.S. will be completely destroyed. It is already in serious trouble...

The New Normal Fifty more gunned down. They say it was a gay bar. Remember “saloons” had a connotation of a specific “type” of entertainment. Today, bars are simply social meeting places for all walks of life...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, June 25, 2016

A Black And White Snapshot Of Tim Green

Other Opinions Grant Parsons

My old law partner Merritt W. Green II — Tim — died last month. He was born with a gift of laughter and a sense of social justice.

The black and white snapshot from 1960 shown here — the old courthouse, the terrazzo floor, the arched windows, the white cops, the large black man in work clothes, Tim – shows exactly what he was. It’s 1960; the Civil Rights Act hasn’t been passed yet. Tim’s being taken to jail; the cops are laughing at something he just said; his black client looks like he wants to protect Tim.

 
Saturday, June 25, 2016

A Yimby Shout

Other Opinions Gary Howe I envision an inclusive Traverse City that is able to proactively plan for future needs and respond to new demands. Our land use policy should support these efforts and address our need for housing -- housing that is close to jobs and services and affordable across the continuum…in particular, the demand for more accessible, compact housing often referred to as the missing middle needs our support.
 
Saturday, June 25, 2016

Blue Angels Blues

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Our local Veterans for Peace organization, comprised of honorable men and women who served in the military, is leading a small but vocal group insisting that the Blue Angels fly on by us and go someplace else. (Full disclosure: They were nice enough to ask me to speak to their group some years ago.)
 
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Doing Something

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We’re very good at the post-massacre activity: The spontaneous memorial to Orlando’s Pulse nightclub tragedy, featuring the requisite teddy bears, flowers and candles, grew within hours. The candlelight march/vigils and the non-denominational memorial services followed.
 
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Transparency

Other Opinions Scott Hardy Transparency….it’s the latest media buzzword when chastising elected officials for not transacting all discussion and deliberations in public. Many local cities, counties, and school boards have been either chastised or burned recently by being — or not being — “transparent.
 
Saturday, June 11, 2016

Lizard Brain

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The judge, of course, is not Mexican. He was born in Indiana. The “biased” and “unbelievable” rulings? They unsealed documents exposing the sham that was Trump University; legal experts confirm the rulings were perfectly appropriate. (It does make one wonder just whom President Trump would appoint to the federal bench.
 
Saturday, June 11, 2016

America’s Many Endless Battles

Other Opinions Jack Segal U.S. forces are struggling to help indigenous troops make headway against the so-called Islamic State (ISIS) in Iraq and Syria, while in Afghanistan, 10,000 American troops are trying to pull together an Afghan fighting force to keep at bay a growing insurgency.
 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

The Alternative

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle There is an alternative for the anybody-but- Trump and not-another-Clinton crowds, however. That perfect political philosophy for which we search, the one in which some candidate agrees with us 100 percent, will remain elusive, but there is an eclectic alternative.
 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate The Decline of Christianity

The End of Times or Reason to Celebrate?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Buchanan’s Eurocentric bias is disconcerting. The Golden Age was not so golden! Yet his thoughts on the decline arising from increased secularism are worth noting. Citing demographic trends and secular systems of belief, Buchanan finds a correlation between the declines of Christianity and Western civilization.
 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

The New Question Of Faith

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian A few years ago the water level on East Grand Traverse Bay was so low our community dock went out 200 feet to get past the muck and weeds into open water. We were told that because of global warming, Lake Michigan was evaporating too fast and these low lake levels were the result.
 
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Stacking The Deck For Tax-Generating Development

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Recently I had the opportunity to meet a friend for an early evening cocktail on the tenth floor of Traverse City’s Park Place Hotel. We soaked up the beautiful view of Grand Traverse Bay and enjoyed identifying landmark buildings along the skyline.
 
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Water Woes

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Go back to 2001 and 2002, when the DEQ helped decide it would be a swell idea to let Nestle, a Swiss-based conglomerate and the largest seller of bottled water in the world, suck groundwater out of Mecosta County and sell it as Ice Mountain. Lots of water; a whopping 400 gallons every minute.
 
Saturday, May 21, 2016

The Plot To Hijack Our Minds

Other Opinions Isiah Smith But this is not yet another tiresome essay fuming about the evils of Trump, or about how Republicans, by their irrational hatred for President Obama, made inevitable the rise of Trumpism. Hatred begets hatred, and people often get the leaders they deserve.
 
Saturday, May 21, 2016

The One

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Soccer is the most popular sport in the world. By any metric, it just is. More people watch it on television (more than 3.2 billion people tuned in to watch at least some part of the 2014 World Cup finals), more people watch it in person, there are more leagues in more countries, more professional and amateur players, more everything.
 
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Remembering One Of 58,220

Other Opinions Jack Segal Memorial Day is coming up soon. If the weather’s good, there’ll be picnics, BBQs, family and friends. Only a few of us will take our kids to a ceremony marking the sacrifices that the day is supposed to commemorate. Only a few will fly a flag.
 
 
Close
Close
Close