Letters

Letters 04-21-2014

An Exercise of Power

Many brave men and women have worn and do wear the military uniform of the United States of America. They put their lives at risk and have lost their lives to protect our freedom, our loved ones and our right to vote...


Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Thursday, August 30, 2007

Where is the antiwar movement?

Other Opinions Steve Morse As we approach the end of the fifth summer we’ve been at war in Iraq and Afghanistan, it’s evident that virtually no progress has been made toward effecting a cease-fire, not to mention a lasting peace. And, what is worse, there is no end in sight — notwithstanding that the American people voted to replace the Republican-held Congress with Democrats who, we thought, looked favorably upon ending the conflict.
It’s now clear that following the 2006 mid-term elections, after having been repeatedly lied to for six years by the Republican administration, the American Left was ignored and then peremptorily dumped by the Democratic leadership in the Congress. That “leadership,” which has been in office since the start of the year, is supposed to be in charge of Congress - a Congress, however, that now has a “confidence” rating of 14%, the lowest since Gallup started asking the question in 1973 and five points lower than the Republicans scored last year.
 
Thursday, August 16, 2007

Swimmers Beware/ Update

Other Opinions Chris Morey I love freediving. The fact that I can drive down to the bay and slide into that amazing universe, beneath the waves and between breaths, just blows me away every time.
As I waded out just west of the Open Space in Traverse City around 10 a.m. July 29, I felt that familiar sense of excitement. At the second sand bar I dropped my monofin and stepped into it. A short distance away, on one of the many boats moored near the beach, I overheard a woman talking loudly on a cell phone, admitting that her boat flushes directly into the bay and that her son uses it frequently.
I wondered how common that is.
I eased into the water and slipped beneath the surface. In the stillness below I aimed for deeper water and relaxed in the almost frictionless liquid blue of the bay. I barely noticed the beer cans and plastic cups strewn along the way.
 
Thursday, August 2, 2007

Ramblings of a full-time musician

Other Opinions John Ivan Greilick I’ve often wondered what it might be like to fly for a living. Over the years, I’ve allowed myself to look upon the captains and first officers of these amazing aircraft buzzing around the sky as heroes. I mean, they cram 170 people into an aluminium tube, fill the wings with kerosene that dumps into a burning can that blasts hot air into the colder, dense atmosphere, propelling us 35,000 feet into the air at 500 mph, just so we can make L.A. in under five hours. That seems to be quite an amazing accomplishment.
 
Thursday, July 26, 2007

Reaching out to the world

Other Opinions Andrea Gerring My self-imposed job this summer is to garner enthusiasm within the community and student population for a class on The Art History of Non-Western Cultures being offered this fall at North Central Michigan College in Petoskey.
In preparing to teach this class, questions arose in my mind as to why this type of class and why now? It is very evident that our neighbors on this planet in Europe, the Middle East and Far East demand our attention on a daily basis.
 
Thursday, July 12, 2007

Lincoln‘s Example... and a way out of the war in Iraq

Other Opinions Senator Carl Levin In his only term in Congress, Abraham Lincoln was an ardent opponent of the Mexican War. He introduced a series of resolutions that challenged President James Polk to show the “spot” of American soil on which Mexicans had spilled American blood, and he voted for an amendment stating that the war was “unnecessarily and unconstitutionally begun by the President.”
But when the question of funding for the troops fighting that war came, Lincoln voted their supplies without hesitation.
Sound familiar? President Bush recently vetoed a bill I helped draft because it would have required him to begin reducing U.S. force levels in Iraq within four months. In the wake of that veto, calls from those who want Congress to try to stop funding the war have grown louder.
 
Thursday, June 28, 2007

Mental Health is everyone‘s business

Other Opinions Leslie Sladek A long list of politicians and rulers throughout time have had mental health diagnoses.
At some point, most of us will suffer from stress, anxiety and/or depression. These often come with changes in one’s life; i.e., moving, childbirth, a new job; or from financial troubles, the loss of a job, friend or family member. This may be how mental illness starts out, but with proper treatment and/or medication, life returns to happy contentment again for most.
For others the symptoms are worse and mental health can be a life-debilitating event. The severity of the illness can affect not only the people themselves but their family, their ability to work or go to school, their finances, and the ability to function as they once had.
 
Thursday, June 7, 2007

Equal Justice for all?

Other Opinions Rich Robinson Michigan Supreme Court Justice Elizabeth Weaver has criticized the state’s top court because there are no explicit standards that say when a justice should disqualify himself or herself from ruling in a case.
Her reward for raising this serious question has been a series of vicious personal attacks against her that distract attention from the serious problem she has raised. Don’t be distracted. There’s a real problem.
A new report from the Justice at Stake Campaign says that state judicial elections are nastier, noisier and more expensive than ever before. Candidates for state supreme courts across the country are building ever-larger campaign accounts. And special interests spend millions of dollars that are never disclosed in any campaign finance report.
This is not a new story. It’s routine for Michigan Supreme Court candidates and their supporters to spend more than $1 million per seat in marketing the candidates. In 2000, the tab was $16 million for three seats, and more than half that spending was totally off the books.
 
Thursday, May 24, 2007

On the farm: a season for healing

Other Opinions Samantha Tengelitsch As a child, my family lived across from a cherry orchard that stretched out before our house in all directions. It swallowed the land and touched the horizon. I found endless fascination in watching tractors and workers weaving in and out of rows, moving around the evenly spaced trees dotted with blossoms in the spring and
vibrant red cherries in the heat of summer.
 
Thursday, May 3, 2007

I ain‘t a pretty boy no more

Other Opinions Roger Ebert My Ninth Annual Overlooked Film Festival opens Wednesday night at the University of Illinois at Urbana, and Chaz and I will be in attendance.
This year I won’t be speaking, however, as I await another surgery.
 
Thursday, April 19, 2007

Michigan Arts on the Ropes

Other Opinions Andrew C. Buelow Today’s creative industries need a creative workforce, and will go where it is to be found. These much-desired “knowledge workers,” in turn, tend to congregate in communities of diversity and culture.
This is the basis of the “Cool Cities” Initiative, launched by Governor Granholm in 2003. It’s a vision for fostering the use of arts and culture to transform Michigan’s cities into centers of creativity and vitality – thereby attracting the new industries that will revitalize the state’s economy.
 
Thursday, April 5, 2007

Tourism & Northern Michigan

Other Opinions Rick Coates This week, Northern Michigan feels like a ghost town as thousands from the region have headed out of state for Spring Break. Over the course of the coming weeks as school districts around Michigan take a break, hundreds of millions of dollars will leave the state, benefiting the economies of Florida, Texas, Mexico and several tropical islands.
Last week, more than 300 tourism leaders from Michigan gathered to talk about the state‘s challenged tourism economy. Depending on who does the counting, tourism is either the second or third largest industry in Michigan, so any way you look at it, tourism is important. Certainly, tourism is the backbone on the economy in Northern Michigan.
 
Thursday, March 29, 2007

Attracting the film industry brings dividends to Northern Michigan

Other Opinions Senator Jason Allen Lights, camera, action.
Thanks to the efforts of many policymakers, Michigan is becoming a more attractive place for filmmakers to consider when searching for a location to shoot motion pictures and commercials.
The competition with other states is fierce, and Michigan has taken an important step to remain a player. Considering the serious challenges facing our uncertain economy, we couldn’t afford to neglect any job providers.
In the past 15 years, the film industry has brought up to $20 million into the state in a year, but that figure dropped to around $2 million in 2006, the lowest in more than a decade.
Michigan was losing ground and something needed to be done. That’s why I strongly supported the Michigan Film Incentive. The new law gives money back to any film production company – from Michigan or elsewhere – that spends between $200,000 and $10 million in Michigan. Some companies will receive up to a 20 percent refund.
 
Thursday, March 1, 2007

The Battle in Acme

Other Opinions Jim Lively Acme Township’s brave battle to build a village instead of a pair of huge shopping centers is raging again. No matter where you live in Northern Michigan, you should care about this.
Acme’s struggle is more than another fight between aggressive developers and growth-fearing townies. Unlike many communities that have allowed themselves to be gradually paved over during the past half-century, Acme residents took the time a few years ago to decide, together, what they wanted their
community to look and feel like—and wrote it into their master plan.
 
Thursday, February 15, 2007

Death of a heroine...Hanley Denning

Other Opinions Jacob Wheeler Hanley Denning, the founder of Safe Passage and a guiding light of hope for families in the Guatemala City garbage dump, was taken from us in a tragic car accident on Thursday, January 18. She was returning from the capital city to Antigua after attending meetings to establish a day care center so that children in Safe Passage could leave their younger siblings in good hands while continuing their studies — an impossible luxury for most Guatemalan kids, yet one realized by more than 550 children who are now part of Safe Passage.
To those children and their families, Hanley was akin to Mother Theresa. In fact, she is often referred to in the Guatemalan media as the “angel of the garbage dump.”
As the news of her passing spread through Guatemala City’s poorest slums, mourners gathered throughout the night at the hospital, and crowds packed the streets at a memorial service, especially grieving mothers with young children.
 
Thursday, February 1, 2007

From worst to first... the best business tax is none

Other Opinions Kenneth M. Braun Michigan’s Single Business Tax (SBT) is America’s worst state corporate tax, according to the Tax Foundation. Fortunately, this job killer will expire on Dec. 31, 2007. Many politicians believe that we must craft a replacement tax because they claim the government cannot do without the $1.9 billion in SBT revenue.
But if the SBT dies and politicians fail to approve a new tax, we will join three other states that the Tax Foundation says do not have any general corporate tax. Judging from what has been happening to those and other states at the top of the Tax Foundation’s corporate tax ranking, our politicians should consider “failure” an option.
 
 
Close
Close
Close