Letters

Letters 08-03-2015

Real Brownfields Deserve Dollars I read with interest the story on Brownfield development dollars in the July 20 issue. I applaud Dan Lathrop and other county commissioners who voted “No” on the Randolph Street project...

Hopping Mad Carlin Smith is hopping mad (“Will You Get Mad With Me?” 7-20-15). Somebody filed a fraudulent return using his identity, and he’s not alone. The AP estimates the government “pays more than $5 billion annually in fraudulent tax refunds.” Well, many of us have been hopping mad for years. This is because the number one tool Congress has used to fix this problem has been to cut the IRS budget –by $1.2 billion in the last 5 years...

Just Grumbling, No Solutions Mark Pontoni’s grumblings [recent Northern Express column] tell us much about him and virtually nothing about those he chooses to denigrate. We do learn that Pontoni may be the perfect political candidate. He’s arrogant, opinionated and obviously dimwitted...

A Racist Symbol I have to respond to Gordon Lee Dean’s letter claiming that the confederate battle flag is just a symbol of southern heritage and should not be banned from state displays. The heritage it represents was the treasonous effort to continue slavery by seceding from a democratic nation unwilling to maintain such a consummate evil...

Not So Thanks I would like to thank the individual who ran into and knocked over my Triumph motorcycle while it was parked at Lowe’s in TC on Friday the 24th. The $3,000 worth of damage was greatly appreciated. The big dent in the gas tank under the completely destroyed chrome badge was an especially nice touch...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Thursday, March 3, 2005

Coping with Environmental Depair

Other Opinions Lisa Franseen, PhD Have you ever had the experience, after hearing of some recent destruction to the planet, of feeling almost panicky? Disgusted? Angry or sad? Or maybe you remember having those reactions but don’t seem to anymore?
I remember coming home from school one day – back in the 8th grade -- to find that the field next door had been ripped out and marked for development. Every tree was gone, the sled hill was gone, my underground fort gone, all life was gone. And the first thing to pull tears to my eyes and bring a wail to my throat, looking out at the raped landscape before me, was thinking about all the pheasants that had suddenly lost their home.
My family used to put corn out for those pheasants, the male and all his hens, and watch them one by one scurry over to eat. Multiply that by thousands with all that I have witnessed since then, locally and internationally... it can be a bit overwhelming. And how easy it is to begin to tune it all out.
Is this despair okay? What do we do with it? And what happens when we do nothing, or bury it? And what would a workshop on environmental despair accomplish? (March 11-13 at the Neah-ta-wanta Inn on Mission Peninsula.)
 
Thursday, February 17, 2005

The New Reign of Censorship Terror on TV

Other Opinions Harley L. Sachs First it was B.O. and now it’s E.D. -- part of the current flap over what’s okay to broadcast on television that goes back for decades.
B.O. was part of the old radio Lifebuoy deodorant soap commercial. It was usually broadcast with the sound effect of a fog-bound buoy and stood for “body odor” as in, “Do you have B.O.?” That’s pretty personal; like who would have the nerve to walk up to someone at the office, make a fog horn sound, and hand him a bar of Lifebuoy?
The B.O. ad spawned jokes about Y.S. as in “Do you have Y.S.?” meaning “You Stink.” That was in the days’ when a shower a week was the norm. We’ve cleaned up since, most of us.
 
Thursday, November 18, 2004

Bay Harbor‘s Pollution: Company should Clean up Its Mess

Other Opinions Kevin L. Cronk Little Traverse Bay is the focal point of our regional economy and quality of life. During recent years, the Tip of the Mitt Watershed Council has developed a watershed management plan to protect and improve water quality of the Bay and its tributaries.
Even as the plan was being finalized, an unknown, yet extremely serious water pollution problem was occurring. In what has turned out to be the greatest source of contamination to the Bay in recent history, CMS Energy, Inc. shut down a system that collected contaminated seepage from cement kiln dust (CKD) in Bay Harbor, essentially allowing the polluted water to flow freely into Little Traverse Bay.
Although CMS blames the system shutdown on technical difficulties, a conscious decision was made by somebody to halt operations instead of correcting the problem.
Leachate (contaminated seepage) from the kiln dust pile underneath the Bay Harbor Golf Course, with mercury levels 230 times greater than allowable limits and with a pH value showing the water to be more alkaline than household bleach, was allowed to flow into the Bay for eight months until the problem was uncovered by the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.
 
Thursday, November 18, 2004

Tax Threat could Freeze out Non-Profit Skating Programs

Other Opinions Michael Anton Approximately 2,000 individuals are on skates each week at facilities operated by ICE (Involved Citizen’s Enterprises). ICE operates Howe Arena through a lease from Grand Traverse County. ICE also owns a twin sheet ice arena in East Bay Township, known as Centre Ice. The youth hockey and figure skating programs are held at the rinks, the high school hockey teams play and practice there, adult leagues take place, and there are daily public skating sessions. These programs are offered without taxpayer support. All that is currently threatened.
ICE is a 501(C)3 non-profit organization and hence is exempt from taxes. That includes sales tax, income tax, and property taxes. Without that exemption, the cost of operating the facilities would make participation prohibitively expensive, and out of reach for many area residents. Grand Traverse County and East Bay Township have challenged that exemption, and placed ICE on the tax rolls.
 
Thursday, September 16, 2004

For the Taking: Emmet County Case has Ramifications for Entire Region

Other Opinions John R. Rohe Emmet County Commissioners have authorized 300,000 square feet of retail commercial space on property zoned residential and agricultural. (The board approved settlement of a lawsuit that permits the Petoskey Investment Group to develop 89 acres south of Wal-Mart in Bear Creek Township – a development opposed by local voters in a referendum. – ed.)
If you did not know this was in the works, it’s because you were not invited. An alleged “substantial risk of a multi-million dollar judgment” alarmed the commissioners. Let’s examine the risk.
 
Thursday, September 9, 2004

You Might Be a Metrosexual... but Chances are You won‘t Admit it

Other Opinions Robert Downes - If you think that make-up for men sounds like a good idea, you might be a metrosexual...
-- If you’d rather go shopping for the latest styles in GQ magazine than go fishing or to a NASCAR race, you might be a metrosexual...
-- If you’ve ever considered getting a Brazilian bikini wax “down there,” you might be a metrosexual...
-- If you... well, you get the picture -- for men, being a metrosexual is the flip side of “you might be a redneck.” Especially here in Northern Michigan where the urban environment of the metrosexual is a rare and far between thing.
 
Thursday, August 26, 2004

The Ramsey Case: Boulder‘s DA Supports Parents of JonBen

Other Opinions Susan Bennett (Jameson) Northern Express recently published a letter from one Delmar England (a self-professed expert on the JonBenét Ramsey case, England‘s letter “Never-ending lies“ ran in the Aug. 8 edition). His Borg (pronounce that “lynch mob”) mentality oozed from his letter -- but I am writing to try to clear up some of his hateful rhetoric.
 
Thursday, August 19, 2004

Lay off My Yard Sign...

Other Opinions Harley Sachs At first I thought it unlikely that after so many months of campaigning, the voices of electioneers could get even more strident. Unfortunately, it’s getting even more nasty and personal. A woman wrote to our local paper complaining that three of her yard signs for George Bush were stolen, which is against the law. I was given a yard sign, too, by a local party activist, and now it, too, has disappeared. Let’s analyze that action.
 
Thursday, August 12, 2004

Join the War Corps: It‘s Time for Conscription of the Willing

Other Opinions Bill Smith Over 40 years ago President Kennedy introduced the Peace Corps, a voluntary initiative to support the Kennedy vision of the U.S. role in helping to make the world a better place.
I propose that President Bush introduce the War Corps, again a voluntary initiative to support the Bush vision of the U.S. role in helping to make the world a better place.
 
Thursday, July 22, 2004

Acme Town Center will Fuel more Sprawl for the Region

Other Opinions William G. Milliken During the last year, the Grand Traverse region has debated the merits of a new “town center” proposal in Acme Township. While I certainly support the township’s goal of concentrating new development and combating sprawl, I strongly oppose the current proposal.
 
Thursday, June 3, 2004

The Canadian Connection: Re-importation is a Prescription for Lower Drug Prices

Other Opinions Senator Debbie Stabenow Prescription drug prices are too high in this country, and I have made it one of my top priorities to lower them.  In fact, the first bill I introduced in the U.S. Senate was to allow for the safe re-importation of lower priced prescription drugs from Canada.  
 
Thursday, May 6, 2004

Second Thoughts: TC‘s Power Plant Building would make a great Community Center

Other Opinions Jeff Nixon You‚‘re the parent of a 14 year old junior highschooler. Your child likes to go to the teen dances held at the YMCA. You drive there to drop off and pick up your teenager before and after the dance. You get caught in the traffic jam and wish there was a better way. There is!
 
Thursday, April 22, 2004

March for Women‘s Lives: A March on Washington, D.C. is about Reproductive Freedom

Other Opinions Jill A. Warren, CEO/Executive Director Planned Parenthood Northern Michigan This week, a million pro-choice women, men, and young people from around the country and around the world will converge in our nation‘s capital to communicate a simple truth: reproductive rights are human rights, and we all must be free to exercise them. That‘s what the March for Women‘s Lives on April 25 is all about.
 
Thursday, April 8, 2004

The Cost of Things: Embodied Energy Offers a Truer Picture of the Environmental & Social Costs of Consumption

Other Opinions Sarna Salzman Energy is a big theme these days. We hear about coal energy, wasting energy, conserving energy, renewable energy, and some of us even eat energy bars. But did you know we can use energy as a means of assessing the value of everyday objects?
 
Thursday, April 8, 2004

The Pentagon‘s Eco-warriors: Military Ponders Upheaval Caused by Global Warming

Other Opinions Eartha Melzer A strange thing happened when I called the Pentagon the other day.
Yes, I called the Pentagon. I had just read an article in Fortune magazine which discussed a Pentagon report that predicted catastrophic climate change would
threaten national security soon. A couple of papers had done stories on the Fortune article, but I wanted to read the whole report, so I e-mailed the reporter
for Fortune and he gave me the name of the guy at the
Pentagon who‘d given him the report.
 
 
Close
Close
Close