Letters

Letters 10-20-2014

Doctor Dan? After several email conversations with Rep. Benishek, he has confirmed that he doesn’t have a clue of what he does. Here’s why...

In Favor Of Our Parks [Traverse] City Proposal 1 is a creative way to improve our city parks without using our tax dollars. By using a small portion of our oil and gas royalties from the Brown Bridge Trust Fund, our parks can be improved for our children and grandchildren.

From January 1970 Popular Mechanics: “Drastic climate changes will occur within the next 50 years if the use of fossil fuels keeps rising at current rates.” That warning comes from Eugene K. Peterson of the Department of the Interior’s Bureau of Land Management.

Newcomers Might Leave: Recently we had guests from India who came over as students with the plan to stay in America. He has a master’s degree in engineering and she is doing her residency in Chicago and plans to specialize in oncology. They talked very candidly about American politics and said that after observing...

Someone Is You: On Sept 21, I joined the 400,000 who took to the streets of New York in the People’s Climate March, followed by a UN Climate Summit and many speeches. On October 13, the Pentagon issued a report calling climate change a significant threat to national security requiring immediate action. How do we move from marches, speeches and reports to meaningful work on this problem? In NYC I read a sign with a simple answer...

Necessary To Pay: Last fall, Grand Traverse voters authorized a new tax to fix roads. It is good, it is necessary.

The Real Reasons for Wolf Hunt: I have really been surprised that no one has been commenting on the true reason for the wolf hunt. All this effort has not been expended so 23 wolves can be killed each year. Instead this manufactured controversy about the wolf hunt has been very carefully crafted to get Proposal 14-2 passed.

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Thursday, June 3, 2004

The Canadian Connection: Re-importation is a Prescription for Lower Drug Prices

Other Opinions Senator Debbie Stabenow Prescription drug prices are too high in this country, and I have made it one of my top priorities to lower them.  In fact, the first bill I introduced in the U.S. Senate was to allow for the safe re-importation of lower priced prescription drugs from Canada.  
 
Thursday, May 6, 2004

Second Thoughts: TC‘s Power Plant Building would make a great Community Center

Other Opinions Jeff Nixon You‚‘re the parent of a 14 year old junior highschooler. Your child likes to go to the teen dances held at the YMCA. You drive there to drop off and pick up your teenager before and after the dance. You get caught in the traffic jam and wish there was a better way. There is!
 
Thursday, April 22, 2004

March for Women‘s Lives: A March on Washington, D.C. is about Reproductive Freedom

Other Opinions Jill A. Warren, CEO/Executive Director Planned Parenthood Northern Michigan This week, a million pro-choice women, men, and young people from around the country and around the world will converge in our nation‘s capital to communicate a simple truth: reproductive rights are human rights, and we all must be free to exercise them. That‘s what the March for Women‘s Lives on April 25 is all about.
 
Thursday, April 8, 2004

The Cost of Things: Embodied Energy Offers a Truer Picture of the Environmental & Social Costs of Consumption

Other Opinions Sarna Salzman Energy is a big theme these days. We hear about coal energy, wasting energy, conserving energy, renewable energy, and some of us even eat energy bars. But did you know we can use energy as a means of assessing the value of everyday objects?
 
Thursday, April 8, 2004

The Pentagon‘s Eco-warriors: Military Ponders Upheaval Caused by Global Warming

Other Opinions Eartha Melzer A strange thing happened when I called the Pentagon the other day.
Yes, I called the Pentagon. I had just read an article in Fortune magazine which discussed a Pentagon report that predicted catastrophic climate change would
threaten national security soon. A couple of papers had done stories on the Fortune article, but I wanted to read the whole report, so I e-mailed the reporter
for Fortune and he gave me the name of the guy at the
Pentagon who‘d given him the report.
 
Thursday, April 1, 2004

The Great Generic Drug Rip-off: Michigan Legislature Works to Keep Prescription Drug Costs Artificially High

Other Opinions Margaret Dodd Since I am considering a run for the 104th District, I have been looking into various issues of concern to me and to the area as a whole. Among these of course, is the retention and addition of good paying jobs. To get the information I wanted first hand, I’ve met with employers in both the public and private sectors to ask what changes they thought should take place at the State level to achieve this goal. At some point in every conversation the spiraling costs of health care came up. Having heard of a downstate investigation into excessive retail pharmacy mark-ups of generic drugs, I enlisted the help of friends to check the cost of seven common generic drugs at several local pharmacies.
 
Thursday, August 14, 2003

Creationism has No Place in our Schools

Other Opinions Oran Kelley It seems Michigan may soon join the ranks of Dayton, Tennessee and the state of Kansas as world centers of Luddism and willful ignorance. This, at least, if a proposal by Michigan State Representative Ken Bradstreet is approved by our lawmakers.
 
Friday, November 29, 2002

Why Shopping Matters

Other Opinions Robert Downes A few years ago, family matters took me back to the small town of Lowell, a farming community I recall from my childhood that is located about 25 miles east of Grand Rapids. Since I hadn‘t been back to Lowell in nearly 30 years, going back was like visiting with Rip Van Winkle and the Ghost of Christmas Yet-to-Come all rolled into one.
 
Thursday, November 7, 2002

New Water Order: Maude Barlow on the Privatization of Water

Other Opinions Holly Wren Spaulding What‘s the big deal over water these days? More and more people around the
world are confronting this question. Here in Michigan, a
controversial water bottling scheme in Mecosta County has resulted in
increased public debate on the subject, as well as a lawsuit, and a variety
of “direct actions,“ including a recent blockade of the bottling plant by
activists calling for an end to what they call “water theft.“
 
Thursday, June 20, 2002

Once It‘s Gone, It‘s Gone Forever: $30 Million Bridge Over Boardman River Damages what we Call Home and Visitors Call Heaven

Other Opinions Keith Schneider & Kelly Thayer - Great Lakes Bulletin News Service Visitors to northern Michigan these days know that the Grand Traverse region is gradually losing its Up North character to sprawling development and out-of-date traffic planning. Now the Grand Traverse County Road Commission is pushing hard to complete another bad idea – the $30 million Hartman-Hammond bridge and four-lane road through the Boardman River valley.
As Michigan citizens consider what’s happening to the most beautiful areas of this state, they would do well to consider this illogical project and join hundreds of Grand Traverse county residents who are doing everything they can to make sure the bridge never happens.
Why? Because building the bridge will permanently ruin one of the last unspoiled places in the Traverse City metropolitan region.
 
 
Close
Close
Close