Letters

Letters 04-25-2016

Taking Our Trees Seconds ago this pine tree was alive. Well, Mr. Cook — our County Road Commission head —and Peninsula Township government … by not weighing in (I guess it’s not your problem or responsibility to communicate with residents), you allowed the County Road Commission to bulldoze down huge swaths of lakeside trees in order to increase the bike lane. This can’t be happening. I have no clue why they would cut trees down that help block snow from creating drifts on Peninsula Drive and help keep the beach area intact. Plus, they are not increasing the width of the road when they repave. I just don’t get it. This is amateur hour at county and township government...

Government Service Unrewarded I served the federal government for XX years with the [agency], [doing XX]. I also worked in the private sector, [doing XX]. When I retired, I was surprised to learn my Social Security benefit would be $XXX less per month than my colleagues and neighbors who had never worked for the federal government. This is all because of the Windfall Elimination Provision (WEP) under the Social Security law...

Which Greased Palm Now that “Chicago values” have utterly corrupted the executive and judicial branches of our federal government, this November We the Plebeians shall either vote to right the governing integrity of the United States constitution’s twin pillars of limited government and separation of powers or turn and step collectively onto the blood soaked road to serfdom...

The Political Mess And Challenge As citizens we are faced with a real challenge. The media and the political candidates have taken over a year to attack those whom they are opposing. The unfavorable ratings of those who may be nominated are above 50 percent. That should be no surprise, considering the length of time given to bloodying one another with opinions that have little relationship to truth. The polling companies, which confess they are not reliable, make everything a game of winning...

CORRECTIONS In last week’s issue we had photos with the incorrect stories on page five. The dance photo should have accompanied the story about grants to nonprofits. The image of Crooked Tree Arts Center Petoskey should have accompanied the story about the ArtPrize exhibit at CTAC.

We also reported the incorrect day for the Bayshore Marathon in Traverse City. The correct date is Sat., May 28.

We apologize for these errors.

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

The Imaginary Trump Voter

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Not since 1800 when a newspaper created by supporters of Thomas Jefferson accused John Adams of being an hermaphrodite has male genitalia been a campaign issue. But two weeks ago during the GOP presidential debate in Detroit, Donald Trump thought it was an appropriate topic.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

No Revolutionaries

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle They are just the latest in a long line of candidates exhorting us to get involved in the Next Big Thing, a political revolution that will change everything. Isn’t this exciting? If only any of them were offering ideas that were actually revolutionary.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

The Next Generation: Really?

Other Opinions The prospects of the teen’s grandparents’ generation, millions of whom received government-paid excursions to the South Pacific or North Africa as high school graduation trips, were in stark contrast to what’s in store for her class.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

Snyder — Pure Indifference

Other Opinions Grant Parsons When Priscilla Townsend told me this story, I asked her how I should write it — about her heroism or about her anger. She waved her hand dismissively, gently in the air, like Brando, and said, “Oh heavens, please don’t make it about me. Make it about the anger.
 
Saturday, February 27, 2016

Biting the Apple

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The story is already well told that a husband and wife team of murderers attacked people in San Bernardino, California, then died in a subsequent gun battle with police. They did so, they claimed, in solidarity with the murderous thugs we now refer to as ISIS or ISIL.
 
Saturday, February 27, 2016

It’s All About That Base: Density, Development Are Important Tools

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Traverse City’s property tax payers fund many of the public expenses that benefit the larger region, and if we want to progress in a smart and sustainable way, we need a bigger tax base to support the services and infrastructure that go along with being a regional hub.
 
Saturday, February 20, 2016

Deciding Syria’s Fate At Munich

Other Opinions Jack Segal This year’s Munich Security Conference (February 13–14) provided the forum for some troubling signals regarding the state of the relationship between the U.S./NATO and Russia. On the one hand, Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev accused the U.S. and our allies of creating an atmosphere of confrontation reminiscent of the worst of the Cold War.
 
Saturday, February 20, 2016

The Scalia Lesson

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Instead, we’re witnessing why Congress has a 13 percent approval rating. The Republicancontrolled Senate, led by Obstructionist In Chief and Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, has declared they won’t allow any nominee to even get so much as a hearing. They don’t care who it is.
 
Saturday, February 13, 2016

The Sanders Fantasy

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The Sanders campaign platform emphasizes four issues; break up and re-regulate big banks and Wall Street, rebuild the country’s infrastructure, create free public college for all and dramatically expand Medicare into a cradle-to-grave single-payer healthcare system.
 
Saturday, February 13, 2016

Crossed: a local pastor and a local atheist debate

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer To fundamentalists, this will appear to be a crass and cynical castigation of all that they find holy. That is not my intent, but I see no way to avoid it. Biblical stories, not to be confused with facts, have their place. As do Greek mythology, Aesop’s Fables, and Disney.
 
Saturday, February 13, 2016

How to Kill a Goose

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian In an age before children’s books had lessons about diversity and blended families, there was the story of the farmer who had a goose that laid golden eggs. The farmer and his wife were delighted with the wealth the goose provided. Traverse City has such a goose in the two bays that define our geography.
 
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Lives At Risk: The White Midlife American

Other Opinions Mary Rogers No doubt you’ve heard that Americans are living longer, healthier lives. Between 1970 and 2013, a combination of behavioral change, prevention, and treatment brought down mortality rates for those aged 45–54 by 44 percent. This is good news, right? Yes, if you are black or Hispanic.
 
Saturday, February 6, 2016

No Correct Answer

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle workers, and disciplinarians but without damaging anyone’s delicate self-esteem. All the while they are captive to ever-changing curricula mandates and new, improved standardized tests every couple of years. When they’re finished with all that they might have a little time to do the actual teaching they thought they were signing up to do.
 
Saturday, January 30, 2016

Eavesdropping In Northern Michigan Bars

Other Opinions Mark Pontoni Eavesdropping in small town bars can be hilarious, uplifting, depressing, and humiliating. As such, on cold winter nights in northern Michigan, it is the most rewarding and cheapest form of entertainment.
 
Saturday, January 30, 2016

Anxiety And Depression Are Affecting Us

Voice From the Next Generation

Other Opinions Jillian McCreery-Piotrowski This is how 10–15 percent of all teenagers feel every day. According to I Need a Lighthouse, a depression and suicide awareness program, approximately 20 percent of teens experience depression before they reach adulthood.
 
 
Close
Close
Close