Letters

Letters 05-30-2016

Oaks & Moths All of last week’s letters regarding recommendations for the best native plants from “Listen to the Experts” from the previous week were right on target. Those who are interested in learning more about native plants, and their importance to birds, bees and butterflies, would do well to read Dr. Douglas Tallamy’s wonderful book, Bringing Nature Home...

Poor Grades On Standardized Testing We have been enduring standardized testing for the last few weeks as our district isn’t allowing for opting out without student removal. I think other parents need to know and the district needs to address their own inconsistencies in policy...

Beware Trump  To describe Trump: hubristic, narcissistic, misogynistic, sociopathic. There are more descriptors. Should we pity this misfit or fear that his values attract such a large segment of our society? Hitler was spawned in the ferment of economic unrest...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Crossed

A Local Pastor And A Local Atheist Debate Contraceptive Coverage - A Violation Of Religious Freedom?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Female circumcision, valued in a handful of cultures, is considered unnecessary and immoral by many. Imagine a progressive business owner being required to provide insurance covering the cost of such a procedure.
 
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Indefensible

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian In a 2015 Rolling Stone article, Amanda Marcotte makes the deceiving statement that “no mass shootings in the past 30 years have been stopped by an armed civilian.” She makes this claim to refute NRA leader Wayne LaPierre’s iconic statement that “the only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun.
 
Saturday, April 9, 2016

The Tax Code Blues

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle According to the presidential candidates, some people and corporations aren’t paying enough taxes. According to others, some people and corporations are paying too much in taxes. The only thing candidates, non-candidates and the rest of us agree on is the tax code is a complicated mess made ever more so year after year.
 
Saturday, April 2, 2016

Not Easy Being A Voter In 2016

Other Opinions Mary Rogers Think back to past election seasons when, as a nation, we would watch the final presidential debate. As you might recall, it has become the norm for the hosting network to assemble a group of undecided registered voters, sometimes even monitoring men and women through electrodes to monitor their excitement for candidates’ remarks.
 
Saturday, April 2, 2016

Never an Encouraging Word

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We get it, already. The Grand Traverse County Board of Supervisors has done a splendid job of telling us there is a serious budget problem, including deficits in both operating costs and in the county employee's pension system.
 
Saturday, March 26, 2016

The Return Of The Big Brother

Other Opinions Isiah Smith Somewhere in Traverse City, a young man reclines in a lazy-boy chair, opens his iPhone and proceeds to pour out his heart to a girl in Kalamazoo. He reminds her of their shared intimate moments and the things they have done in the privacy of their respective apartments.
 
Saturday, March 26, 2016

A Brief Review

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Republicans have a clear frontrunner in Donald Trump and two also-rans, Ted Cruz and John Kasich. Cruz and Kasich are mostly interested in preventing Trump from getting to the GOP convention with a majority of delegates; they have little chance of winning outright.
 
Saturday, March 19, 2016

Us Vs. Them

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

Who’s to blame? They are. And they aren’t us. That’s the distilled message we’re getting from presidential campaigns. Create a problem, identify villains, blame them for everything. Unfortunately, it is a political infection that has spread to debates on local issues, too. Our intrepid presidential candidates have certainly chosen different targets...

 
Saturday, March 19, 2016

North Korea’s War Talk

Other Opinions Jack Segal My first experience with North Korea was during my initial tour as a diplomat in far away Botswana. North Korea had been invited to participate in a national trade fair with other nations, but when I walked into its pavilion, all that was on display was anti-American propaganda. I asked the North Koreans to explain why. Without a word, one of the North Koreans charged at me with a cricket bat.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

CROSSED: Did Jesus actually exist?

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Almost fifty years ago, my grandmother taught me this prayer. Recently I mentioned it in a sermon. Most knew the prayer. How could this be? They didn’t know my grandmother; she didn’t know them. They must have learned the prayer somewhere else, perhaps their grandmothers.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

TCAPs’ Sinking Ship

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian For the second time in ten years, Traverse City Area Public Schools are closing facilities. In 2007 they shuttered Oak Park, Norris, and Sabin Elementary schools. When they made that move, TCAPS lost students to Elk Rapids Schools and to charter, private, and religious schools.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

The Imaginary Trump Voter

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Not since 1800 when a newspaper created by supporters of Thomas Jefferson accused John Adams of being an hermaphrodite has male genitalia been a campaign issue. But two weeks ago during the GOP presidential debate in Detroit, Donald Trump thought it was an appropriate topic.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

No Revolutionaries

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle They are just the latest in a long line of candidates exhorting us to get involved in the Next Big Thing, a political revolution that will change everything. Isn’t this exciting? If only any of them were offering ideas that were actually revolutionary.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

The Next Generation: Really?

Other Opinions The prospects of the teen’s grandparents’ generation, millions of whom received government-paid excursions to the South Pacific or North Africa as high school graduation trips, were in stark contrast to what’s in store for her class.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

Snyder — Pure Indifference

Other Opinions Grant Parsons When Priscilla Townsend told me this story, I asked her how I should write it — about her heroism or about her anger. She waved her hand dismissively, gently in the air, like Brando, and said, “Oh heavens, please don’t make it about me. Make it about the anger.
 
 
Close
Close
Close