Letters

Letters 06-20-2016

More About Kachadurian Columnist Tom Kachadurian’s recent fit to slash out at the world of science and scientists is just another example of his profound ignorance and shallowness...

Love Wins Wow! Donald Trump scares me! He is a nasty individual who has the one thing that makes him dangerous…money! If he becomes president, the U.S. will be completely destroyed. It is already in serious trouble...

The New Normal Fifty more gunned down. They say it was a gay bar. Remember “saloons” had a connotation of a specific “type” of entertainment. Today, bars are simply social meeting places for all walks of life...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, March 26, 2016

The Return Of The Big Brother

Other Opinions Isiah Smith Somewhere in Traverse City, a young man reclines in a lazy-boy chair, opens his iPhone and proceeds to pour out his heart to a girl in Kalamazoo. He reminds her of their shared intimate moments and the things they have done in the privacy of their respective apartments.
 
Saturday, March 26, 2016

A Brief Review

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Republicans have a clear frontrunner in Donald Trump and two also-rans, Ted Cruz and John Kasich. Cruz and Kasich are mostly interested in preventing Trump from getting to the GOP convention with a majority of delegates; they have little chance of winning outright.
 
Saturday, March 19, 2016

Us Vs. Them

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

Who’s to blame? They are. And they aren’t us. That’s the distilled message we’re getting from presidential campaigns. Create a problem, identify villains, blame them for everything. Unfortunately, it is a political infection that has spread to debates on local issues, too. Our intrepid presidential candidates have certainly chosen different targets...

 
Saturday, March 19, 2016

North Korea’s War Talk

Other Opinions Jack Segal My first experience with North Korea was during my initial tour as a diplomat in far away Botswana. North Korea had been invited to participate in a national trade fair with other nations, but when I walked into its pavilion, all that was on display was anti-American propaganda. I asked the North Koreans to explain why. Without a word, one of the North Koreans charged at me with a cricket bat.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

CROSSED: Did Jesus actually exist?

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Almost fifty years ago, my grandmother taught me this prayer. Recently I mentioned it in a sermon. Most knew the prayer. How could this be? They didn’t know my grandmother; she didn’t know them. They must have learned the prayer somewhere else, perhaps their grandmothers.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

TCAPs’ Sinking Ship

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian For the second time in ten years, Traverse City Area Public Schools are closing facilities. In 2007 they shuttered Oak Park, Norris, and Sabin Elementary schools. When they made that move, TCAPS lost students to Elk Rapids Schools and to charter, private, and religious schools.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

The Imaginary Trump Voter

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Not since 1800 when a newspaper created by supporters of Thomas Jefferson accused John Adams of being an hermaphrodite has male genitalia been a campaign issue. But two weeks ago during the GOP presidential debate in Detroit, Donald Trump thought it was an appropriate topic.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

No Revolutionaries

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle They are just the latest in a long line of candidates exhorting us to get involved in the Next Big Thing, a political revolution that will change everything. Isn’t this exciting? If only any of them were offering ideas that were actually revolutionary.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

The Next Generation: Really?

Other Opinions The prospects of the teen’s grandparents’ generation, millions of whom received government-paid excursions to the South Pacific or North Africa as high school graduation trips, were in stark contrast to what’s in store for her class.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

Snyder — Pure Indifference

Other Opinions Grant Parsons When Priscilla Townsend told me this story, I asked her how I should write it — about her heroism or about her anger. She waved her hand dismissively, gently in the air, like Brando, and said, “Oh heavens, please don’t make it about me. Make it about the anger.
 
Saturday, February 27, 2016

Biting the Apple

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The story is already well told that a husband and wife team of murderers attacked people in San Bernardino, California, then died in a subsequent gun battle with police. They did so, they claimed, in solidarity with the murderous thugs we now refer to as ISIS or ISIL.
 
Saturday, February 27, 2016

It’s All About That Base: Density, Development Are Important Tools

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Traverse City’s property tax payers fund many of the public expenses that benefit the larger region, and if we want to progress in a smart and sustainable way, we need a bigger tax base to support the services and infrastructure that go along with being a regional hub.
 
Saturday, February 20, 2016

Deciding Syria’s Fate At Munich

Other Opinions Jack Segal This year’s Munich Security Conference (February 13–14) provided the forum for some troubling signals regarding the state of the relationship between the U.S./NATO and Russia. On the one hand, Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev accused the U.S. and our allies of creating an atmosphere of confrontation reminiscent of the worst of the Cold War.
 
Saturday, February 20, 2016

The Scalia Lesson

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Instead, we’re witnessing why Congress has a 13 percent approval rating. The Republicancontrolled Senate, led by Obstructionist In Chief and Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, has declared they won’t allow any nominee to even get so much as a hearing. They don’t care who it is.
 
Saturday, February 13, 2016

The Sanders Fantasy

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The Sanders campaign platform emphasizes four issues; break up and re-regulate big banks and Wall Street, rebuild the country’s infrastructure, create free public college for all and dramatically expand Medicare into a cradle-to-grave single-payer healthcare system.
 
 
Close
Close
Close