Letters

Letters 02-08-2016

Less Ageism, Please The January 4 issue of this publication proved to me that there are some sensible voices of reason in our community regarding all things “inter-generational.” I offer a word of thanks to Elizabeth Myers. I too have worked hard for what I’ve earned throughout my years in the various positions I’ve held. While I too cannot speak for each millennial, brash generalizations about a lack of work ethic don’t sit well with me...Joe Connolly, Traverse City

Now That’s an Escalation I just read the letter from Greg and his defense of the AR15. The letter started with great information but then out of nowhere his opinion went off the rails. “The government wants total gun control and then confiscation; then the elimination of all Constitutional rights.” Wait... what?! To quote the great Ron Burgundy, “Well, that escalated quickly!”

Healthy Eating and Exercise for Children Healthy foods and exercise are important for children of all ages. It is important for children because it empowers them to do their best at school and be able to do their homework and study...

Mascots and Harsh Native American Truths The letter from the Choctaw lady deserves an answer. I have had a gutful of the whining about the fate of the American Indian. The American Indians were the losers in an imperial expansion; as such, they have, overall, fared much better than a lot of such losers throughout history. Everything the lady complains about in the way of what was done by the nasty, evil Whites was being done by Indians to other Indians long before Europeans arrived...

Snyder Must Go I believe it’s time. It’s time for Governor Snyder to go. The FBI, U.S. Postal Inspection Service and the EPA Criminal Investigation Division are now investigating the Flint water crisis that poisoned thousands of people. Governor Snyder signed the legislation that established the Emergency Manager law. Since its inception it has proven to be a dismal failure...

Erosion of Public Trust Let’s look at how we’ve been experiencing global warming. Between 1979 and 2013, increases in temperature and wind speeds along with more rain-free days have combined to stretch fire seasons worldwide by 20 percent. In the U.S., the fire seasons are 78 days longer than in the 1970s...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, October 31, 2015

“... One Supreme Court...”

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Any time members of Congress start discussing the constitutionality of something, as they have endlessly with President Obama’s executive orders and as they did again during the ninth investigation into the events that unfolded in Benghazi, the notion of “original intent” crops up.
 
Saturday, October 31, 2015

Our Afghan Insanity

Other Opinions Jack Segal America has been at war in Afghanistan for 14 years. Yet on October 15, President Obama informed us that he has decided to keep 9,800 American troops in the country for yet another year. He also decided to pass this failed mission onto his successor by keeping more than 5,600 troops there through 2017.
 
Saturday, October 24, 2015

The Politics of Growth

Other Opinions Scott Hardy As a preface to this column I should note that I am a lifelong resident of Traverse City who grew up inside the city limits of the town I love.
 
Saturday, October 24, 2015

Lanes and Docks and Lawsuits

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Perhaps they’re right, but they might have at least pretended to appreciate public input and the study. Dismissing both out of hand was unusually bad form. And we could have used a bit more information.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Crossed

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate “Spiritual, but not Religious” — Conviction or Cop-out?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Nothing in life prepared me for this moment. Though early in my ministry, I was no stranger to death and dying. This was different. Cutting into the body and maneuvering the suction wand, I saw, like never before…Apart from the Spirit of Life, we are no more than carcasses.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Interesting Times

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Soon-to-be former Speaker of the House John Boehner has stepped down from what has become one of the worst jobs in American politics. An old-fashioned dealmaker in the better sense of that phrase, Boehner found himself marooned between an uncooperative White House and an intransigent insurgency in his own party.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Government by the Numbers: How About 1364.02 ?

Other Opinions Grant Parsons It might be time to review City government’s effectiveness. Traverse City has experienced a series of gaffs and catastrophes: 1) A $360,000 splash pad sprays sewage on kids; 2) A remodeled city marina electrocutes a swimmer; 3) A multimillion dollar...
 
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Nostalgists vs. Newbies

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Horizon Books and industrial waste on the property of the former Iron Works. The Grand Traverse Commons Redevelopment Corporation was considering bids to tear down historic Building 50, and the Warehouse District was a collection of run-down buildings sitting on contaminated land.
 
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Piling Up Teddy Bears

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle In fact, according to the Mass Shooting Tracker — and how hideous such a thing exists — there are more mass shootings — incidents in which four or more people are killed or wounded — annually than there are days on the calendar; already more than 300 this year.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Embrace Imperfect Produce

Other Opinions Tricia Phelps, Taste the Local Difference The storm that tore across Leelanau and Grand Traverse counties last month uprooted trees and damaged homes. But it also beat up a lot of locally grown produce, leaving it unable to meet our “perfect produce” standards.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Plenty to Talk About

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Municipal elections are typically more civil affairs, at least in part because the candidates actually live among and interact with the citizens they serve. There is reason to believe that will be the case again this year with reasonable candidates for each available office.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Ike Warned Us

Other Opinions Jack Segal As President Dwight Eisenhower (“Ike”) left office in January 1961, he gave a speech that was meant as a warning to the American people. It was little-noticed at the time as the nation shifted its attention to the dynamic new president, John F. Kennedy (JFK).
 
Saturday, September 26, 2015

E Pluribus Unum

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian The Great Seal of the United States contains only three words: E Pluribus Unum: from many, one. It was a brilliant use of language. At the base it represented the coming together of several independent states to create one nation. But it went deeper. In Europe countries were small; they had unique languages and cultures.
 
Saturday, September 26, 2015

Fear Not

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Dr. Ben Carson, who really should know better, says he doesn't think a Muslim should be president because their religion isn't compatible with our constitution. Uh huh. If such a thing existed, Dr. Carson would surely be nominated for the Nobel Prize for irony.
 
Saturday, September 19, 2015

The Unintended Cost of Being Popular

Other Opinions Todd Manns Sound familiar? It should. Escalating home prices in TC are on an upward trend I only wish existed for my 401k. Interestingly, most real estate purchases are off the waterfront, with 82 percent of home sales April–June occurring inland and the largest number of non-waterfront homes for sale priced above $400,000.
 
 
Close
Close
Close