Letters

Letters 04-25-2016

Taking Our Trees Seconds ago this pine tree was alive. Well, Mr. Cook — our County Road Commission head —and Peninsula Township government … by not weighing in (I guess it’s not your problem or responsibility to communicate with residents), you allowed the County Road Commission to bulldoze down huge swaths of lakeside trees in order to increase the bike lane. This can’t be happening. I have no clue why they would cut trees down that help block snow from creating drifts on Peninsula Drive and help keep the beach area intact. Plus, they are not increasing the width of the road when they repave. I just don’t get it. This is amateur hour at county and township government...

Government Service Unrewarded I served the federal government for XX years with the [agency], [doing XX]. I also worked in the private sector, [doing XX]. When I retired, I was surprised to learn my Social Security benefit would be $XXX less per month than my colleagues and neighbors who had never worked for the federal government. This is all because of the Windfall Elimination Provision (WEP) under the Social Security law...

Which Greased Palm Now that “Chicago values” have utterly corrupted the executive and judicial branches of our federal government, this November We the Plebeians shall either vote to right the governing integrity of the United States constitution’s twin pillars of limited government and separation of powers or turn and step collectively onto the blood soaked road to serfdom...

The Political Mess And Challenge As citizens we are faced with a real challenge. The media and the political candidates have taken over a year to attack those whom they are opposing. The unfavorable ratings of those who may be nominated are above 50 percent. That should be no surprise, considering the length of time given to bloodying one another with opinions that have little relationship to truth. The polling companies, which confess they are not reliable, make everything a game of winning...

CORRECTIONS In last week’s issue we had photos with the incorrect stories on page five. The dance photo should have accompanied the story about grants to nonprofits. The image of Crooked Tree Arts Center Petoskey should have accompanied the story about the ArtPrize exhibit at CTAC.

We also reported the incorrect day for the Bayshore Marathon in Traverse City. The correct date is Sat., May 28.

We apologize for these errors.

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, January 23, 2016

No Falling Skies

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle If there is a problem, it’s that no president has unraveled the nightmare that is the defense procurement system wherein every project takes years longer and billions more to complete than we’re told.
 
Saturday, January 23, 2016

Iran Lurches Forward

Other Opinions Jack Segal The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) confirmed January 16 that Iran had completed the steps required to begin to lift nuclear sanctions imposed by the UN.
 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Hero Worship

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian We have a hero problem in the United States. On any given day, top news stories are mostly about television stars or sports figures. If politicians make particularly stupid comments or break the law, they make the cut.
 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Legislative Creatures

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Thanks to the legislature and Governor Snyder, local government entities will no longer be able to communicate with the voters in any way within 60 days of an election impacting them. No explanation of the ballot issue, no advocacy, not even a copy of the actual ballot language or simple information about the location and hours of polling places.
 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Crossed

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate Is Secularism A Belief System?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Rev. Meyers: In Coralville, Iowa, our children participated in a school district event creating a “mock” community. Students played shopkeepers, bankers, civic leaders, police officers, or fire fighters. Others functioned as consumers, taking advantage of the services provided.

Singer: One of this country’s fundamental founding principles is the absolute separation between church and state. To me, that seems simple; Congress can neither establish nor prohibit religious exercise. Unfortunately many religious people want more. They are convinced that any prohibition to their specific public behaviors should be illegal.

 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

Truth Is In That Grave

Other Opinions Grant Parsons Just outside Washington, D.C., at Quantico National Cemetery, civilian and military volunteers walk between the rows of gravestones with armloads of pine wreaths tied with red bows. The grass green, the sky blue, the ranks of gravestones straight and true — sentinels, sentinels, sentinels silent now.
 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

A League Of His Own

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The majority group believes his poll numbers are overstated, a result of researchers using a target universe including all Republican voters instead of those most likely to vote. On the other side are those now claiming Trump’s support is understated because many of his supporters are embarrassed to admit it.
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

Questions 2016

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle While some are resolving to do — or not do — all manner of things they won’t end up doing — or stop doing — the New Year seems a more likely time for questions. As always, there are plenty of them..
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

The Checkbook And Calendar Never Lie

Other Opinions Christie Minervini With the New Year upon us, I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on the notion of “voting with our dollars.” This was again brought to light when Traverse City’s Bill Marsh Automotive Group pulled its United Way employee giving program because it learned that Planned Parenthood was a grant recipient.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Make A Wish

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian It’s the season to dream. Children everywhere imagine the toys and treats on Christmas, yet parents walk a careful line. We want our children to have the joy of surprise and magical feelings of granted wishes. It’s a delight to watch young children discover gifts they never imagined.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Safest Place for Christmas

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We seem to have almost made it to Christmas without those darned liberals trying to kill it. At least they are accused of attempting to do so every year around this time. Since no one is trying to kill it this year, we’ve been mercifully spared any books by anyone claiming to save it.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Free to Choose

Other Opinions Jack Segal I was in Los Angeles recently and found my way to the “Museum of Tolerance,” a beautiful complex in West L.A. that also houses the Simon Wiesenthal Center. Outside, a line of beat-up Los Angeles County school buses were parked, having brought loads of inner city kids to the museum to learn about this complicated issue of “tolerance.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

A Modest Proposal

Other Opinions Grant Parsons You swallow that nonsense about Hitler’s victims going meekly? Well, the NRA has made U.S. citizens meek. The assault weapon, a human-killing machine, is sold everywhere. We can’t ban this retail product, sold for profit, that kills cops and kids indiscriminately, repeatedly, horribly, predictably, time-after-time, because the NRA won’t let us.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

But You Didn't Know

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle For example, I’ll bet you didn’t know the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has conducted no research on gun violence and its injurious consequences since 1996, despite a consensus that such violence represents a genuine public health threat.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate UnCrossed: Let’s Welcome, Not Reject Refugees

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer The question for Christians is not: Is it safe to care for refugees? The question is: How shall we care for refugees safely? Those responsible for providing aid and assisting refugee families in resettlement must do everything possible to keep the process safe.
 
 
Close
Close
Close