Letters

Letters 08-22-2016

Historically Wrong In regard to Mary Keyes Rogers’ column about the downtown charter amendment, neither Samuel Adams nor Thomas Jefferson were at the Constitutional Convention...

The Film Possibilities I was surprised that none of the Traverse City Film Festival films addressed the most pressing and dangerous issue of the day: radical Islamic Jihad. Perhaps a storyline could have illustrated how the West brought this on themselves, or if we could only find jobs for those fellows! Perhaps put it down to global warming...

Helmets Save Lives The facts are in. Wearing a helmet is the most effective tool to save your brain in a motorcycle accident. The bonus? Helmets also save hearts. Nearly two yrs ago, on Aug. 26, 2014 our son lived...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, May 21, 2016

The One

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Soccer is the most popular sport in the world. By any metric, it just is. More people watch it on television (more than 3.2 billion people tuned in to watch at least some part of the 2014 World Cup finals), more people watch it in person, there are more leagues in more countries, more professional and amateur players, more everything.
 
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Remembering One Of 58,220

Other Opinions Jack Segal Memorial Day is coming up soon. If the weather’s good, there’ll be picnics, BBQs, family and friends. Only a few of us will take our kids to a ceremony marking the sacrifices that the day is supposed to commemorate. Only a few will fly a flag.
 
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Checking Up On Trump

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Our choices are being whittled down to the two oldest, least liked presidential candidates in history. One has a history of misogyny, bankruptcy and xenophobia while being accused of fraud in civil court. The other might be indicted on criminal charges during the campaign.
 
Saturday, May 7, 2016

A Local Pastor And A Local Atheist Debate The Upcoming Presidential Election — Prophecies Fulfilled?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Twenty years ago I’d watch the “Jerry Springer Show” and laugh. Not a healthy laugh; more a “shaking the head in disbelief ” smirk, the kind reserved for carnival midways. A mix of amusement and disdain. Today I no longer laugh. The world of Jerry Springer is our world!.
 
Saturday, May 7, 2016

With Friends Like These...

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Our relationship with them began long before our supposed alliance following 9/11. They had lots of sweet crude oil that required minimal refining and we needed some of it. As long as that need existed we were happy to play the role of oil serf to their monarchy.
 
Saturday, May 7, 2016

Wedlock

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian It’s wedding season in northern Michigan. Unless you live under a rock — a really big one — you know that our culture has been engaged in a furious debate over who should and should not be allowed to marry. Those who read my words regularly might expect me to wade hipdeep into the fray.
 
Saturday, April 30, 2016

Why Schools Are Closing

Other Opinions Grant Parsons There was a time when we raised up bright leaders on our shoulders, when politicians smiled and school kids with batons led the parade, glancing at each other to keep in step, and the sun shone brightly and men’s pant legs flapped like flags and...
 
Saturday, April 30, 2016

Stop It

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Gum wrappers, drink cups, cigarette packages, beer cans, plastic bags; anything that should have been thrown in a garbage can is tossed on the ground by unthinking dunderheads. And if not on the ground then in the water. The Boardman River has yielded furniture, appliances and plenty of tires.
 
Saturday, April 23, 2016

Busy City

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle A redesign study of Division Street from 14th Street to Grandview Parkway with goals to improve safety, slow traffic, reduce congestion and become more pedestrian friendly is complete (if you’re wondering how slowing traffic will reduce congestion and where all those pedestrians are, you’re not alone).
 
Saturday, April 23, 2016

A Closer Look At School Funding

Other Opinions Christie Minervini There has been a lot of discussion surrounding Traverse City Area Public Schools’ (TCAPS) decision to close two — possibly three — elementary schools over the next two years. Officials have blamed decreasing revenues, aging facilities, and declining enrollment for the needed closures.
 
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Nuclear Nightmares

Other Opinions Jack Segal After the attacks on Paris in November 2015, authorities discovered video surveillance footage of what appeared to be an ordinary residence. But further investigation revealed that the house being monitored belonged to a senior official of the Belgian nuclear industry.
 
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Nobody Learned A Thing

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle On March 9, an African-American family and some friends in Wilkinsburg, Pa., were having a backyard cookout on an unusually warm day. Two gunmen crashed the party. While one herded the partygoers into the backyard, the other waited and methodically shot them, killing six and wounding three others.
 
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Crossed

A Local Pastor And A Local Atheist Debate Contraceptive Coverage - A Violation Of Religious Freedom?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Female circumcision, valued in a handful of cultures, is considered unnecessary and immoral by many. Imagine a progressive business owner being required to provide insurance covering the cost of such a procedure.
 
Saturday, April 9, 2016

Indefensible

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian In a 2015 Rolling Stone article, Amanda Marcotte makes the deceiving statement that “no mass shootings in the past 30 years have been stopped by an armed civilian.” She makes this claim to refute NRA leader Wayne LaPierre’s iconic statement that “the only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun.
 
Saturday, April 9, 2016

The Tax Code Blues

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle According to the presidential candidates, some people and corporations aren’t paying enough taxes. According to others, some people and corporations are paying too much in taxes. The only thing candidates, non-candidates and the rest of us agree on is the tax code is a complicated mess made ever more so year after year.
 
 
Close
Close
Close