Letters

Letters 05-30-2016

Oaks & Moths All of last week’s letters regarding recommendations for the best native plants from “Listen to the Experts” from the previous week were right on target. Those who are interested in learning more about native plants, and their importance to birds, bees and butterflies, would do well to read Dr. Douglas Tallamy’s wonderful book, Bringing Nature Home...

Poor Grades On Standardized Testing We have been enduring standardized testing for the last few weeks as our district isn’t allowing for opting out without student removal. I think other parents need to know and the district needs to address their own inconsistencies in policy...

Beware Trump  To describe Trump: hubristic, narcissistic, misogynistic, sociopathic. There are more descriptors. Should we pity this misfit or fear that his values attract such a large segment of our society? Hitler was spawned in the ferment of economic unrest...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Crossed

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate Is Secularism A Belief System?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Rev. Meyers: In Coralville, Iowa, our children participated in a school district event creating a “mock” community. Students played shopkeepers, bankers, civic leaders, police officers, or fire fighters. Others functioned as consumers, taking advantage of the services provided.

Singer: One of this country’s fundamental founding principles is the absolute separation between church and state. To me, that seems simple; Congress can neither establish nor prohibit religious exercise. Unfortunately many religious people want more. They are convinced that any prohibition to their specific public behaviors should be illegal.

 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

Truth Is In That Grave

Other Opinions Grant Parsons Just outside Washington, D.C., at Quantico National Cemetery, civilian and military volunteers walk between the rows of gravestones with armloads of pine wreaths tied with red bows. The grass green, the sky blue, the ranks of gravestones straight and true — sentinels, sentinels, sentinels silent now.
 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

A League Of His Own

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The majority group believes his poll numbers are overstated, a result of researchers using a target universe including all Republican voters instead of those most likely to vote. On the other side are those now claiming Trump’s support is understated because many of his supporters are embarrassed to admit it.
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

Questions 2016

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle While some are resolving to do — or not do — all manner of things they won’t end up doing — or stop doing — the New Year seems a more likely time for questions. As always, there are plenty of them..
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

The Checkbook And Calendar Never Lie

Other Opinions Christie Minervini With the New Year upon us, I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on the notion of “voting with our dollars.” This was again brought to light when Traverse City’s Bill Marsh Automotive Group pulled its United Way employee giving program because it learned that Planned Parenthood was a grant recipient.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Make A Wish

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian It’s the season to dream. Children everywhere imagine the toys and treats on Christmas, yet parents walk a careful line. We want our children to have the joy of surprise and magical feelings of granted wishes. It’s a delight to watch young children discover gifts they never imagined.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Safest Place for Christmas

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We seem to have almost made it to Christmas without those darned liberals trying to kill it. At least they are accused of attempting to do so every year around this time. Since no one is trying to kill it this year, we’ve been mercifully spared any books by anyone claiming to save it.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Free to Choose

Other Opinions Jack Segal I was in Los Angeles recently and found my way to the “Museum of Tolerance,” a beautiful complex in West L.A. that also houses the Simon Wiesenthal Center. Outside, a line of beat-up Los Angeles County school buses were parked, having brought loads of inner city kids to the museum to learn about this complicated issue of “tolerance.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

A Modest Proposal

Other Opinions Grant Parsons You swallow that nonsense about Hitler’s victims going meekly? Well, the NRA has made U.S. citizens meek. The assault weapon, a human-killing machine, is sold everywhere. We can’t ban this retail product, sold for profit, that kills cops and kids indiscriminately, repeatedly, horribly, predictably, time-after-time, because the NRA won’t let us.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

But You Didn't Know

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle For example, I’ll bet you didn’t know the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has conducted no research on gun violence and its injurious consequences since 1996, despite a consensus that such violence represents a genuine public health threat.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate UnCrossed: Let’s Welcome, Not Reject Refugees

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer The question for Christians is not: Is it safe to care for refugees? The question is: How shall we care for refugees safely? Those responsible for providing aid and assisting refugee families in resettlement must do everything possible to keep the process safe.
 
Saturday, December 5, 2015

Gop Clown Car Isn’t Funny Any More

Other Opinions Mark Pontoni The bizarre GOP primary season has caused a lot of head scratching on my head that is already over-scratched. It’s far too simple to dismiss the long list of candidates as silly or stupid; that doesn’t really help us understand what has happened to the Republican Party.
 
Saturday, December 5, 2015

Ignoring Reality

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Except we’re actually experiencing a net annual reduction in the number of illegal immigrants according to Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). More are leaving voluntarily or being deported than are arriving. More like a backwash than a flood.
 
Saturday, November 28, 2015

The Visual Arts In Northern Michigan And What To Do About It

Other Opinions Delbert Michel I have seen good galleries come and go very quickly, having to shift from showing serious and challenging forms of art to works that have an easy tourist appeal. Such works often focus on subjects that are readily understood but not necessarily artistic in nature.
 
Saturday, November 28, 2015

More War

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle A group of murderers claiming affiliation with ISIS or ISIL or ISI, or whatever it is we’re calling them now, massacred 130 people in various locations in Paris — and since ISIL is in Syria, we’ll go to war in Syria, despite the fact that none of the attackers in Paris were Syrian; they were all European nationals.
 
 
Close
Close
Close