Letters

Letters 08-01-2016

Voter Suppression And Choice In 2013, five Supreme Court justices, each appointed by Republican presidents, knocked the teeth out of the Voting Rights Act. Immediately a majority of Republican-dominated states began passing laws aimed at suppressing the votes of their majority Democrat demographics: minorities, students and the elderly. These laws – requiring voter IDs, cutting early voting, eliminating same-day registration, closing selected polling places, banning straight-ticket voting, etc. — never flat-out deny a person’s right to vote; they just make actual registering and voting more difficult, and therefore make it more likely that individuals in certain groups will not vote. Think of voter suppression as a kind of reverse marketing strategy, one aimed at getting people not to do something...

Free Parking Patrick Sullivan’s good story on parking overlooked one source of “free parking” that has become an increasing problem in Traverse City: spill-over into adjacent neighborhoods. Instead of discouraging people from bringing cars downtown, we’re allowing them to park on both sides of narrow residential streets all day long...

Real American Duality Isiah Smith didn’t really put his deep thinking hat on before writing the “American Duality” commentary. First there’s geography. His daughter feels safer in Sweden than in the United States, at least partially because of the violence in Dallas, Baton Rouge and Minnesota. Really? Safer than in northern Michigan, which is further away from Dallas and Baton Rouge than Stockholm is from Ansbach, Paris or Brussels and no closer to Minnesota than Sweden is to Germany? Did Smith miss recent supremely violent events in those places? Alrighty then...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

CROSSED: Did Jesus actually exist?

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Almost fifty years ago, my grandmother taught me this prayer. Recently I mentioned it in a sermon. Most knew the prayer. How could this be? They didn’t know my grandmother; she didn’t know them. They must have learned the prayer somewhere else, perhaps their grandmothers.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

TCAPs’ Sinking Ship

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian For the second time in ten years, Traverse City Area Public Schools are closing facilities. In 2007 they shuttered Oak Park, Norris, and Sabin Elementary schools. When they made that move, TCAPS lost students to Elk Rapids Schools and to charter, private, and religious schools.
 
Saturday, March 12, 2016

The Imaginary Trump Voter

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Not since 1800 when a newspaper created by supporters of Thomas Jefferson accused John Adams of being an hermaphrodite has male genitalia been a campaign issue. But two weeks ago during the GOP presidential debate in Detroit, Donald Trump thought it was an appropriate topic.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

No Revolutionaries

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle They are just the latest in a long line of candidates exhorting us to get involved in the Next Big Thing, a political revolution that will change everything. Isn’t this exciting? If only any of them were offering ideas that were actually revolutionary.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

The Next Generation: Really?

Other Opinions The prospects of the teen’s grandparents’ generation, millions of whom received government-paid excursions to the South Pacific or North Africa as high school graduation trips, were in stark contrast to what’s in store for her class.
 
Saturday, March 5, 2016

Snyder — Pure Indifference

Other Opinions Grant Parsons When Priscilla Townsend told me this story, I asked her how I should write it — about her heroism or about her anger. She waved her hand dismissively, gently in the air, like Brando, and said, “Oh heavens, please don’t make it about me. Make it about the anger.
 
Saturday, February 27, 2016

Biting the Apple

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The story is already well told that a husband and wife team of murderers attacked people in San Bernardino, California, then died in a subsequent gun battle with police. They did so, they claimed, in solidarity with the murderous thugs we now refer to as ISIS or ISIL.
 
Saturday, February 27, 2016

It’s All About That Base: Density, Development Are Important Tools

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Traverse City’s property tax payers fund many of the public expenses that benefit the larger region, and if we want to progress in a smart and sustainable way, we need a bigger tax base to support the services and infrastructure that go along with being a regional hub.
 
Saturday, February 20, 2016

Deciding Syria’s Fate At Munich

Other Opinions Jack Segal This year’s Munich Security Conference (February 13–14) provided the forum for some troubling signals regarding the state of the relationship between the U.S./NATO and Russia. On the one hand, Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev accused the U.S. and our allies of creating an atmosphere of confrontation reminiscent of the worst of the Cold War.
 
Saturday, February 20, 2016

The Scalia Lesson

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Instead, we’re witnessing why Congress has a 13 percent approval rating. The Republicancontrolled Senate, led by Obstructionist In Chief and Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, has declared they won’t allow any nominee to even get so much as a hearing. They don’t care who it is.
 
Saturday, February 13, 2016

The Sanders Fantasy

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The Sanders campaign platform emphasizes four issues; break up and re-regulate big banks and Wall Street, rebuild the country’s infrastructure, create free public college for all and dramatically expand Medicare into a cradle-to-grave single-payer healthcare system.
 
Saturday, February 13, 2016

Crossed: a local pastor and a local atheist debate

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer To fundamentalists, this will appear to be a crass and cynical castigation of all that they find holy. That is not my intent, but I see no way to avoid it. Biblical stories, not to be confused with facts, have their place. As do Greek mythology, Aesop’s Fables, and Disney.
 
Saturday, February 13, 2016

How to Kill a Goose

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian In an age before children’s books had lessons about diversity and blended families, there was the story of the farmer who had a goose that laid golden eggs. The farmer and his wife were delighted with the wealth the goose provided. Traverse City has such a goose in the two bays that define our geography.
 
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Lives At Risk: The White Midlife American

Other Opinions Mary Rogers No doubt you’ve heard that Americans are living longer, healthier lives. Between 1970 and 2013, a combination of behavioral change, prevention, and treatment brought down mortality rates for those aged 45–54 by 44 percent. This is good news, right? Yes, if you are black or Hispanic.
 
Saturday, February 6, 2016

No Correct Answer

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle workers, and disciplinarians but without damaging anyone’s delicate self-esteem. All the while they are captive to ever-changing curricula mandates and new, improved standardized tests every couple of years. When they’re finished with all that they might have a little time to do the actual teaching they thought they were signing up to do.
 
 
Close
Close
Close