Letters

Letters 11-28-2016

Trump should avoid self-dealing President-elect Donald Trump plans to turn over running of The Trump Organization to his children, who are also involved in the transition and will probably be informal advisers during his administration. This is not a “blind trust.” In this scenario Trump and family could make decisions based on what’s best for them rather than what’s best for the country...

Trump the change we need?  I have had a couple of weeks to digest the results of this election and reflect. There is no way the selection of Trump as POTUS could ever come close to being normal. It is not normal to have a president-elect settle a fraud case for millions a couple of months before the inauguration. It is not normal to have racists considered for cabinet posts. It is not normal for a president-elect tweet outrageous comments on his Twitter feed to respond to supposed insults at all hours of the early morning...

Health care system should benefit all It is no secret that the health insurance situation in our country is controversial. Some say the Affordable Care Act is “the most terrible thing that has happened to our country in years”; others are thrilled that, “for the first time in years I can get and afford health insurance.” Those who have not been closely involved in the medical field cannot be expected to understand how precarious the previous medical insurance structure was...

Christmas tradition needs change The Christmas light we need most is the divine, and to receive it we do not need electricity, probably only prayers and good deeds. But not everyone has this understanding, as we see in the energy waste that follows with the Christmas decorations...

CORRECTIONS & CLARIFICATIONS 

A story in last week’s edition about parasailing businesses on East Grand Traverse Bay mistakenly described Grand Traverse Parasail as a business that is affiliated with the ParkShore Resort. It operates from a beach club two doors down from the resort. The story also should have noted that prior to the filing of a civil lawsuit in federal court by Saburi Boyer and Traverse Bay Parasail against Bryan Punturo and the ParkShore Resort, a similar lawsuit was dismissed from 13th Circuit Court in Traverse City upon a motion from the defendant’s attorney. Express regrets the error and omission.

A story in last week’s edition about The Fillmore restaurant in Manistee misstated Jacob Slonecki’s job at Arcadia Bluffs Golf Course. He was a cook. Express regrets the error.

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, July 9, 2016

A Tale Of Ten Stories

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We arrived at this seeming obsession with the need for 10-story structures in two ways: First, a two-decade old master plan calls for buildings up to 95 feet in certain areas with a special use permit.
 
Saturday, July 2, 2016

Crossed

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate Terrorism – Is Religion the Cause or the Cure?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer A thorn by any name? Ideology isn’t faith. President Obama avoids the modifier “Islamic” when speaking about Al-Qaeda, ISIL and other terrorist groups. He isn’t being politically correct; he’s identifying a fundamental difference between ideology and faith.
 
Saturday, July 2, 2016

The Gibby’s Dilemma

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian Last year was my 26th Cherry Festival as a Traverse City resident. For those twentyplus years I had puzzled over one of the great dilemmas of the ages. It was consuming my waking hours and it was time to heal myself and make a final decision.
 
Saturday, July 2, 2016

Closing Doors

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The European Union is 28 mostly European countries that have come together to create a single economic and political entity. It has its own elected government, enacts rules member nations must obey, levies taxes, regulates trade and has its own judiciary.
 
Saturday, June 25, 2016

A Black And White Snapshot Of Tim Green

Other Opinions Grant Parsons

My old law partner Merritt W. Green II — Tim — died last month. He was born with a gift of laughter and a sense of social justice.

The black and white snapshot from 1960 shown here — the old courthouse, the terrazzo floor, the arched windows, the white cops, the large black man in work clothes, Tim – shows exactly what he was. It’s 1960; the Civil Rights Act hasn’t been passed yet. Tim’s being taken to jail; the cops are laughing at something he just said; his black client looks like he wants to protect Tim.

 
Saturday, June 25, 2016

A Yimby Shout

Other Opinions Gary Howe I envision an inclusive Traverse City that is able to proactively plan for future needs and respond to new demands. Our land use policy should support these efforts and address our need for housing -- housing that is close to jobs and services and affordable across the continuum…in particular, the demand for more accessible, compact housing often referred to as the missing middle needs our support.
 
Saturday, June 25, 2016

Blue Angels Blues

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Our local Veterans for Peace organization, comprised of honorable men and women who served in the military, is leading a small but vocal group insisting that the Blue Angels fly on by us and go someplace else. (Full disclosure: They were nice enough to ask me to speak to their group some years ago.)
 
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Doing Something

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We’re very good at the post-massacre activity: The spontaneous memorial to Orlando’s Pulse nightclub tragedy, featuring the requisite teddy bears, flowers and candles, grew within hours. The candlelight march/vigils and the non-denominational memorial services followed.
 
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Transparency

Other Opinions Scott Hardy Transparency….it’s the latest media buzzword when chastising elected officials for not transacting all discussion and deliberations in public. Many local cities, counties, and school boards have been either chastised or burned recently by being — or not being — “transparent.
 
Saturday, June 11, 2016

Lizard Brain

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The judge, of course, is not Mexican. He was born in Indiana. The “biased” and “unbelievable” rulings? They unsealed documents exposing the sham that was Trump University; legal experts confirm the rulings were perfectly appropriate. (It does make one wonder just whom President Trump would appoint to the federal bench.
 
Saturday, June 11, 2016

America’s Many Endless Battles

Other Opinions Jack Segal U.S. forces are struggling to help indigenous troops make headway against the so-called Islamic State (ISIS) in Iraq and Syria, while in Afghanistan, 10,000 American troops are trying to pull together an Afghan fighting force to keep at bay a growing insurgency.
 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

The Alternative

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle There is an alternative for the anybody-but- Trump and not-another-Clinton crowds, however. That perfect political philosophy for which we search, the one in which some candidate agrees with us 100 percent, will remain elusive, but there is an eclectic alternative.
 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate The Decline of Christianity

The End of Times or Reason to Celebrate?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Buchanan’s Eurocentric bias is disconcerting. The Golden Age was not so golden! Yet his thoughts on the decline arising from increased secularism are worth noting. Citing demographic trends and secular systems of belief, Buchanan finds a correlation between the declines of Christianity and Western civilization.
 
Saturday, June 4, 2016

The New Question Of Faith

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian A few years ago the water level on East Grand Traverse Bay was so low our community dock went out 200 feet to get past the muck and weeds into open water. We were told that because of global warming, Lake Michigan was evaporating too fast and these low lake levels were the result.
 
Saturday, May 28, 2016

Stacking The Deck For Tax-Generating Development

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Recently I had the opportunity to meet a friend for an early evening cocktail on the tenth floor of Traverse City’s Park Place Hotel. We soaked up the beautiful view of Grand Traverse Bay and enjoyed identifying landmark buildings along the skyline.
 
 
Close
Close
Close