Letters

Letters 10-27-2014

Paging Doctor Dan: The doctor’s promise to repeal Obamacare reminds me of the frantic restaurant owner hurrying to install an exhaust fan after the kitchen burns down. He voted 51 times to replace the ACA law; a colossal waste of money and time. It’s here to stay and he has nothing to replace it.

Evolution Is Real Science: Breathtaking inanity. That was the term used by Judge John Jones III in his elegant evisceration of creationist arguments attempting to equate it to evolutionary theory in his landmark Kitzmiller vs. Dover Board of Education decision in 2005.

U.S. No Global Police: Steven Tuttle in the October 13 issue is correct: our military, under the leadership of the President (not the Congress) is charged with protecting the country, its citizens, and its borders. It is not charged with  performing military missions in other places in the world just because they have something we want (oil), or we don’t like their form of government, or we want to force them to live by the UN or our rules.

Graffiti: Art Or Vandalism?: I walk the [Grand Traverse] Commons frequently and sometimes I include the loop up to the cistern just to go and see how the art on the cistern has evolved. Granted there is the occasional gross image or word but generally there is a flurry of color.

NMEAC Snubbed: Northern Michigan Environmental Action Council (NMEAC) is the Grand Traverse region’s oldest grassroots environmental advocacy organization. Preserving the environment through citizen action and education is our mission.

Vote, Everyone: Election Day on November 4 is fast approaching, and now is the time to make a commitment to vote. You may be getting sick of the political ads on TV, but instead, be grateful that you live in a free country with open elections. Take the time to learn about the candidates by contacting your county parties and doing research.

Do Fluoride Research: Hydrofluorosilicic acid, H2SiF6, is a byproduct from the production of fertilizer. This liquid, not environmentally safe, is scrubbed from the chimney of the fertilizer plant, put into containers, and shipped. Now it is a ‘product’ added to the public drinking water.

Meet The Homeless: As someone who volunteers for a Traverse City organization that works with homeless people, I am appalled at what is happening at the meetings regarding the homeless shelter. The people fighting this shelter need to get to know some homeless families. They have the wrong idea about who the homeless are.

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Monday, December 27, 2010

Questions

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Questions
Ah, yes, a new year. Time for noisemakers and funny hats and
predictions and resolutions.
Predictions for 2011 are just downright foolish. Nobody seems to have
a clue. Even corporations big and small are playing wait-and-see,
delaying expansion and hiring plans and stockpiling cash. At least the
big corporations have been stockpiling cash.
 
Monday, December 20, 2010

Naughty & Nice

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Naughty & Nice
In addition to good little boys and girls, there are all kinds of
people out there who have been nice this year.
There are teachers, fire fighters, nurses, doctors, law enforcement
officers and military personnel.
 
Monday, December 20, 2010

Leaks don‘t kill people do, secrets do

Other Opinions Michael Moore Leaks Don’t Kill People, Secrets Do
By Michael Moore
Last week, in the Westminster Magistrates Court in London, the lawyers for
WikiLeaks co-founder Julian Assange presented to the judge a document from
me stating that I have put up $20,000 of my own money to help bail Mr.
Assange out of jail.
 
Monday, December 13, 2010

Donning our white apparel

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Donning our gay apparel
Traverse City has become the latest Michigan city to approve an
ordinance that prohibits discrimination against people based on their
sexual orientation. And just like in many of those other cities, a
group opposed to the ordinance is attempting to put the matter before
voters.
 
Monday, December 6, 2010

Trouble in North Korea

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Trouble in North Korea
The crazy people who run North Korea, or more to the point, the crazy
family, is at it again, lobbing artillery shells on a South Korean
island.
The Korean War, the Forgotten War, has become the Longest War, now in
its 60th year. Most of us don’t remember how or why it started and
almost no one understands what the hell is going on there now.
From 1910 until 1945, the Korean Peninsula was under the control of
the Japanese. They weren’t especially kind overseers.
 
Monday, November 29, 2010

Hunger in the Land of Plenty

Other Opinions Stephan Tuttle Hunger in the Land of Plenty
Thanksgiving is an excessive delight for most of us. Family,
friends and food in overabundance.
Many of us do a good deed by contributing to a food bank or helping
serve a real Thanksgiving Day dinner to people less fortunate. It
gives us a justifiably good feeling about ourselves and helps lift up,
at least temporarily, people who need it.
 
Monday, November 29, 2010

High School drug-sweeps: Legal?

Other Opinions Steve Morse High School Drug-Sweeps: Legal?
By Steve Morse
Recently, I was approached by a parent of a student at Traverse City
Central High School who asked if I had heard about the drug sweep that
had taken place at the school the day before. I had not. The man
said that although his daughter had not been busted, he wondered
whether such a sweep, conducted with drug-sniffing dogs, was legal.
Reading about it in the paper the following morning, I guessed that
this question might be one on the mind of many other parents,
students, and members of the community. Here is the answer.
Searches of students by school officials are governed, like all
searches, by the Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. That
amendment does not prohibit all searches, only those that are
“unreasonable.” An illegal search occurs “when an expectation of
privacy that society is prepared to consider reasonable is infringed.”
The starting point, of course, is that there must be what the courts
consider to be an actual “search.”
 
Monday, November 22, 2010

Bad start to a new beginning

Other Opinions Stephan Tuttle Here we go.
The co-chairs of the budget deficit commission, former Clinton Chief
of Staff Erskine Bowles, and Allan Simpson, a former GOP Senator from
Wyoming, have created quite a stir with their preliminary report on
reducing the federal deficit. The report is both dramatic and
pragmatic. It is also a stark reminder of just how difficult this is
going to be.
 
Monday, November 15, 2010

A glass already half empty

Other Opinions Stephan Tuttle A glass already half empty
The big issue in the next 30 years, both here and around the country, will not be deficits or bailouts or stimulus packages or even war, though it may well cause more than one.
The issue will be water, and the Great Lakes, especially Lake Michigan, will be the bullseye on the target at which the water-starved will be pointing.
The world is not overflowing with potable water. We are currently witnessing, in Haiti, what happens when clean drinking water disappears.
But it isn’t just Third World countries on the brink. Some areas of the United States are already looking at a half-full glass. The starting point is the so-called Dust States – New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada, Utah, west Texas and southern California – all of which are in the process of creating water crises or have such crises already in full bloom.
 
Monday, November 15, 2010

Rich-Rod: U of M‘s goft to MSU fans

Other Opinions George Foster Rich-Rod: U-M’s gift to MSU fans
Thanks for everything, Wolverines.
Last week’s results in Ann Arbor was the best possible scenario for Michigan State supporters (I must disclose my own allegiance to the Almighty Sparty). NCAA sanctions against the University of Michigan and its football coach were lighter than expected and U-M won a game against Illinois that they probably should have lost.
How is this good for MSU supporters, you ask? Look at it this way: if U-M had lost to Illinois and the NCAA had imposed even more infractions against the program, U-M coach Rich Rodriquez would have been fired for sure after this season. He might be history anyway, but now there is a chance Rodriquez might stick around a couple of more seasons. Rodriquez’s continued coaching tenure would ensure mediocre win totals for U-M, promote more squabbling within the Wolverines sports family regarding Rich-Rod’s coaching status and drive more top recruits to MSU.
 
Monday, November 8, 2010

Elections are a beautiful thing

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Elections are a beautiful thing
Thank God that’s over.
Our windstorms of a couple weeks ago were little more than light
breezes compared to the hot air spewed by politicians of all stripes
the last six months. Their television and radio ad barrages have
both insulted our intelligence and tried our patience.
 
Monday, November 1, 2010

The paycheck problem

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The paycheck problem
As the campaigns finally, and mercifully, come to an end (and let’s
take a moment here to bow our heads in reverential thanksgiving for
whoever that blessed soul was who invented the “Mute” button on our
remote controls), there is a fairly startling issue politicians of all
stripes chose to ignore.
 
Monday, November 1, 2010

The greatest baseball player of all time

Other Opinions George Foster As the 2010 World Series winds down, you and I are once again left to
debate that centuries-old dilemma: who really is the greatest baseball
player to ever trod the earth?
Babe Ruth was famous for his power-hitting (and power-living), Ty Cobb
had the best career batting average, and pitcher Cy Young won over 500
games in his long and storied career. We youngsters might put our vote
in for Alex Rodriquez, Barry Bonds, or Roger Clemens.
 
Monday, October 25, 2010

TCL&P: Vote No on Prop 1

Other Opinions Mike Coco TCL&P: Vote No on Prop 1
By Mike Coco
On November 2, Traverse City voters will be asked to make a radical
change to the City Charter, our constitution, regarding Traverse City
Light & Power (“TCL&P”).
TCL&P has received the message that many people in our community are
passionate about having a thoughtful energy plan that reflects our
community’s values. This includes addressing energy use and
generation in a more environmentally conscious and sustainable way.
As the current board chairman, I assure you that the TCL&P board
embraces and welcomes this community discussion. We have not performed
well recently in our public engagement; we are working to do better.
 
Monday, October 25, 2010

Please don‘t vote

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Please Don‘t Vote
Please don’t vote. No, seriously. Why bother?
Let’s face it – all the candidates for every office are either
worthless or no better than the other guy or gal. We know this
because we’ve been told that for months now. One party is pretty much
just like the other and neither side seems to have more than an ounce
or two of common sense. Many of you are now counting on some tea party
candidate, or sympathizer, to really stir things up, restore the
Constitution, cut spending reduce taxes, blah, blah, blah. Or you
want some liberal to maintain or expand social services, tax the rich,
end the war, blah, blah, blah.
 
 
Close
Close
Close