Letters

Letters 04-25-2016

Taking Our Trees Seconds ago this pine tree was alive. Well, Mr. Cook — our County Road Commission head —and Peninsula Township government … by not weighing in (I guess it’s not your problem or responsibility to communicate with residents), you allowed the County Road Commission to bulldoze down huge swaths of lakeside trees in order to increase the bike lane. This can’t be happening. I have no clue why they would cut trees down that help block snow from creating drifts on Peninsula Drive and help keep the beach area intact. Plus, they are not increasing the width of the road when they repave. I just don’t get it. This is amateur hour at county and township government...

Government Service Unrewarded I served the federal government for XX years with the [agency], [doing XX]. I also worked in the private sector, [doing XX]. When I retired, I was surprised to learn my Social Security benefit would be $XXX less per month than my colleagues and neighbors who had never worked for the federal government. This is all because of the Windfall Elimination Provision (WEP) under the Social Security law...

Which Greased Palm Now that “Chicago values” have utterly corrupted the executive and judicial branches of our federal government, this November We the Plebeians shall either vote to right the governing integrity of the United States constitution’s twin pillars of limited government and separation of powers or turn and step collectively onto the blood soaked road to serfdom...

The Political Mess And Challenge As citizens we are faced with a real challenge. The media and the political candidates have taken over a year to attack those whom they are opposing. The unfavorable ratings of those who may be nominated are above 50 percent. That should be no surprise, considering the length of time given to bloodying one another with opinions that have little relationship to truth. The polling companies, which confess they are not reliable, make everything a game of winning...

CORRECTIONS In last week’s issue we had photos with the incorrect stories on page five. The dance photo should have accompanied the story about grants to nonprofits. The image of Crooked Tree Arts Center Petoskey should have accompanied the story about the ArtPrize exhibit at CTAC.

We also reported the incorrect day for the Bayshore Marathon in Traverse City. The correct date is Sat., May 28.

We apologize for these errors.

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Crossed

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate “Spiritual, but not Religious” — Conviction or Cop-out?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Nothing in life prepared me for this moment. Though early in my ministry, I was no stranger to death and dying. This was different. Cutting into the body and maneuvering the suction wand, I saw, like never before…Apart from the Spirit of Life, we are no more than carcasses.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Interesting Times

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Soon-to-be former Speaker of the House John Boehner has stepped down from what has become one of the worst jobs in American politics. An old-fashioned dealmaker in the better sense of that phrase, Boehner found himself marooned between an uncooperative White House and an intransigent insurgency in his own party.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Government by the Numbers: How About 1364.02 ?

Other Opinions Grant Parsons It might be time to review City government’s effectiveness. Traverse City has experienced a series of gaffs and catastrophes: 1) A $360,000 splash pad sprays sewage on kids; 2) A remodeled city marina electrocutes a swimmer; 3) A multimillion dollar...
 
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Nostalgists vs. Newbies

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Horizon Books and industrial waste on the property of the former Iron Works. The Grand Traverse Commons Redevelopment Corporation was considering bids to tear down historic Building 50, and the Warehouse District was a collection of run-down buildings sitting on contaminated land.
 
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Piling Up Teddy Bears

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle In fact, according to the Mass Shooting Tracker — and how hideous such a thing exists — there are more mass shootings — incidents in which four or more people are killed or wounded — annually than there are days on the calendar; already more than 300 this year.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Embrace Imperfect Produce

Other Opinions Tricia Phelps, Taste the Local Difference The storm that tore across Leelanau and Grand Traverse counties last month uprooted trees and damaged homes. But it also beat up a lot of locally grown produce, leaving it unable to meet our “perfect produce” standards.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Plenty to Talk About

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Municipal elections are typically more civil affairs, at least in part because the candidates actually live among and interact with the citizens they serve. There is reason to believe that will be the case again this year with reasonable candidates for each available office.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Ike Warned Us

Other Opinions Jack Segal As President Dwight Eisenhower (“Ike”) left office in January 1961, he gave a speech that was meant as a warning to the American people. It was little-noticed at the time as the nation shifted its attention to the dynamic new president, John F. Kennedy (JFK).
 
Saturday, September 26, 2015

E Pluribus Unum

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian The Great Seal of the United States contains only three words: E Pluribus Unum: from many, one. It was a brilliant use of language. At the base it represented the coming together of several independent states to create one nation. But it went deeper. In Europe countries were small; they had unique languages and cultures.
 
Saturday, September 26, 2015

Fear Not

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Dr. Ben Carson, who really should know better, says he doesn't think a Muslim should be president because their religion isn't compatible with our constitution. Uh huh. If such a thing existed, Dr. Carson would surely be nominated for the Nobel Prize for irony.
 
Saturday, September 19, 2015

The Unintended Cost of Being Popular

Other Opinions Todd Manns Sound familiar? It should. Escalating home prices in TC are on an upward trend I only wish existed for my 401k. Interestingly, most real estate purchases are off the waterfront, with 82 percent of home sales April–June occurring inland and the largest number of non-waterfront homes for sale priced above $400,000.
 
Saturday, September 19, 2015

Bibles and Billionaires

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Kim Davis, America’s most famous county clerk, was out of jail and back at work last week, once again sounding like a weiner commercial talking about answering to a higher authority. And abdicating her legal responsibility to issue marriage licenses..
 
Saturday, September 19, 2015

Crossed

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer There are still pastors who use fear and guilt, shame and self-loathing, to convict and convert. However, they’re not the benchmark for Christian theology. There are those who don’t believe in lunar landings, but their beliefs do not define our discussion of space science.
 
Friday, September 11, 2015

Michael A. Cathcart

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

Monday, September 21 is the 30th annual International Day of Peace. World leaders will pay lip service and nothing more.

In Traverse City, the festivities will take place on the more convenient Saturday before, starting at the Clinch Park beach at 8am. There will be a march, there will be signs, there will be speeches. Hope for elusive peace will be the theme (and if previous years experience is a guide, there will also be people protesting those asking for peace. You would have to ask them why).

 
Friday, September 11, 2015

Making Division Street Slower, Steadier and Safer

Other Opinions Christie Minervini More than 25,000 vehicles pass along this highway every day, often competing with pedestrians and bicyclists trying to cross. Transportation officials say more than 400 accidents have occurred on the street over the last five years. Most agree it’s a dangerous corridor and serious changes need to happen.
 
 
Close
Close
Close