Letters

Letters 02-08-2016

Less Ageism, Please The January 4 issue of this publication proved to me that there are some sensible voices of reason in our community regarding all things “inter-generational.” I offer a word of thanks to Elizabeth Myers. I too have worked hard for what I’ve earned throughout my years in the various positions I’ve held. While I too cannot speak for each millennial, brash generalizations about a lack of work ethic don’t sit well with me...Joe Connolly, Traverse City

Now That’s an Escalation I just read the letter from Greg and his defense of the AR15. The letter started with great information but then out of nowhere his opinion went off the rails. “The government wants total gun control and then confiscation; then the elimination of all Constitutional rights.” Wait... what?! To quote the great Ron Burgundy, “Well, that escalated quickly!”

Healthy Eating and Exercise for Children Healthy foods and exercise are important for children of all ages. It is important for children because it empowers them to do their best at school and be able to do their homework and study...

Mascots and Harsh Native American Truths The letter from the Choctaw lady deserves an answer. I have had a gutful of the whining about the fate of the American Indian. The American Indians were the losers in an imperial expansion; as such, they have, overall, fared much better than a lot of such losers throughout history. Everything the lady complains about in the way of what was done by the nasty, evil Whites was being done by Indians to other Indians long before Europeans arrived...

Snyder Must Go I believe it’s time. It’s time for Governor Snyder to go. The FBI, U.S. Postal Inspection Service and the EPA Criminal Investigation Division are now investigating the Flint water crisis that poisoned thousands of people. Governor Snyder signed the legislation that established the Emergency Manager law. Since its inception it has proven to be a dismal failure...

Erosion of Public Trust Let’s look at how we’ve been experiencing global warming. Between 1979 and 2013, increases in temperature and wind speeds along with more rain-free days have combined to stretch fire seasons worldwide by 20 percent. In the U.S., the fire seasons are 78 days longer than in the 1970s...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Friday, July 31, 2015

The “Real Man’s” Traverse City

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian We love Traverse City just the way it is. We’re not embarrassed that a popular restaurant has FouFou in the title. It’s fine that the 300 block of E. Front has been taken over by women in yoga wear, even if, to us, a yoga mat looks like a nice place to nap. But where is the stuff for guys? A stand-up paddleboard in open water would spell certain death, and no one wants to see us doing Zumba at 9:00am in the Open Space.
 
Saturday, July 25, 2015

Sublime to Ridiculous

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

The 11th Traverse City Film Festival is upon us. This is a good thing. It’s an especially good thing if you enjoy movies you would not otherwise have a chance to see. And if you enjoy talking movies with people you wouldn’t otherwise meet.

 
Saturday, July 25, 2015

We Get What They Pay For

Other Opinions Mark Pontoni During the 2014 election cycle, it was pretty obvious there were not many talented candidates running for office in northern Michigan. With the exception of Betsy Coffia, Wayne Schmidt, and Jerry Cannon, there was very little upon which to evaluate candidates.
 
Friday, July 17, 2015

Will You Get Mad With Me?

Other Opinions Carlin Smith Normally I use the precious opportunity of writing this commentary as a means to share the virtues of my beloved Petoskey, where I live and work. Rest assured, Petoskey is having a robust summer like most northern Michigan communities. Tourism is alive and well, and our resorters have returned to their summer cottages.
 
Friday, July 17, 2015

The Donald vs. The Bernie

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Donald Trump “loves the Mexicans” despite claiming their government is “sending us” rapists and murderers. He claims we currently have no border and he will build an “impenetrable wall” and make Mexico pay for it. Yes we do, no you won’t, no they won’t.
 
Friday, July 10, 2015

Of Potholes and Parking

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We’re sorry about the streets. Our local road commissions do what they can with the budgets they have and the short window of opportunity the weather presents to repair or rebuild streets. The crews work pretty hard trying to keep pace with overwhelming need.
 
Friday, July 10, 2015

How Much For Defense?

Other Opinions Jack Segal July is a busy time on Capitol Hill as Congress considers the final round of appropriations decisions for the FY 2016 Federal Budget. In twelve major bills, our representatives are debating how to spend $3.8 trillion dollars next year. That’s not a typo — $3,800,000,000,000.
 
Monday, July 6, 2015

Pick a New Fight

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle That was quite a reaction from the Republican presidential candidates to recent Supreme Court decisions that didn’t go their way. They shouldn’t have been surprised by either. In the decision that affirmed another key element of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), even Chief Justice John Roberts became a sixth vote with the majority.
 
Monday, July 6, 2015

Words of Warning

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian In Traverse City we’re being misled with the term “affordable.” It’s a great word for deception. There is no specific number attached to “affordable.” At the same time, it’s a word that carries no negative connotation. Each person who hears “affordable” applies his or her idea of something reasonable and within reach. When politicians use the label, they are hiding artificial manipulation of the market.
 
Monday, September 5, 2011

The Wrong Turn

Other Opinions Steven Tuttle There will be much introspection and reflection over the next few days.
We’ll see the horrifying videos of commercial airliners being flown into
the World Trade Towers. We will once again wonder why no one was able to
“connect the dots” and take preventative action. There will be memorial
services and candlelight vigils.
We’ll collectively wonder if we’ve learned anything at all. But as bad as
9/11 was, it’s the decisions we’ve made since that should concern us.
We knew almost immediately a group calling itself al Qaida was responsible
and that the Taliban, then returning Afghanistan to the 16th century they
so love, had aided and abetted them.
 
Monday, September 5, 2011

Attorney General Bill Schuette?s attack on the law violates voters

Other Opinions Rev. Stephen B. Thompson Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette’s efforts to bring the Michigan
Medical Marijuana Act into line with what he believes the voters wanted is
a waste of taxpayer time and money.
As a reminder, in 2008 Schuette led the opposition to the ballot
initiative and confidently predicted that the proposal would fail.
Ultimately it passed in every Michigan county and legislative district and
was approved by 63% of all voters statewide. It is hard to understand how
someone who got it so wrong the first time can be so confident that he
knows the mind of the voters this time.
 
Monday, August 22, 2011

The fire under the Teapots

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The Twin Towers of tea partydom, Michelle Bachmann and Ron Paul, have
won the Iowa straw poll. If only it actually meant something.
To be fair, tea party supporters and their feckless leaders in Congress
are on a nice roll. Their presidential aspirants keep percolating
toward the top of various polls and they control the U.S. House by
their unwillingness to agree on anything even one degree outside of
their narrow demands. Even better, their official White Knight, Texas
Governor Rick Perry, has nearly completed his I-Am-Not-A-Mormon tour
and will now start campaigning in earnest.
 
Monday, August 8, 2011

What I‘ll miss

Other Opinions Brooke Whitten What I‘ll Miss ...going back to school
By Brooke Whitten
As August arrives, I’m forced to pack my belongings into boxes and
suitcases for a third time. I’m getting ready to start my junior year at
Central Michigan University in Mount Pleasant. I’m only four semesters
away from graduating with a major in photojournalism and minor in outdoor
and environmental education.
 
Monday, August 8, 2011

Do little, take a break

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Do Little, Take a Break
Our collective play date in Washington has taken a break. The sandbox is
empty, the toys gone. Some of the children pretending to be our elected
representatives did not play well with others.
As John McEnroe was fond of bellowing, “You cannot be serious!”
The Great Budget Near-Disaster of 2011 has concluded round one. After
months of wrangling that was frequently surreal, Congress has agreed to a
deal that raises the debt ceiling, thereby at least forestalling a default
on obligations by the United States government for the first time in our
history. It also reduces spending by an amount that’s about the same as
the amount of increase in the debt ceiling.
 
Monday, August 1, 2011

What‘s over that hill?

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle What’s Over That Hill?
The United States is out of the human space travel business. The recently
landed Endeavor mission was the last of our shuttle flights and we no
longer have any kind of program of our own to transport our astronauts
into space. At the very least, we’re taking a long hiatus.
The next time American men and women go to space it will be as
hitchhikers, bumming a ride on a Russian craft. We’ve become that member
of the carpool who no longer has a car.
 
 
Close
Close
Close