Letters

Letters 06-20-2016

More About Kachadurian Columnist Tom Kachadurian’s recent fit to slash out at the world of science and scientists is just another example of his profound ignorance and shallowness...

Love Wins Wow! Donald Trump scares me! He is a nasty individual who has the one thing that makes him dangerous…money! If he becomes president, the U.S. will be completely destroyed. It is already in serious trouble...

The New Normal Fifty more gunned down. They say it was a gay bar. Remember “saloons” had a connotation of a specific “type” of entertainment. Today, bars are simply social meeting places for all walks of life...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, November 7, 2015

Why Would Anyone Run for Public Office?

Other Opinions Christie Minervini While having lunch with Traverse City mayoral candidate Jeanine Easterday last month, an acquaintance approached our table. “One more week until the election,” she said. And without indicating whether or not she supported Ms. Easterday, she added, “I think you're really brave.
 
Saturday, November 7, 2015

Veterans

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We started producing veterans and trying to find a way to care for them, before we were even a country. In 1636, Plymouth Colony agreed to provide assistance to those wounded during their skirmishes with the Pequot Indians. It was the first known benefit for veterans in the New World.
 
Saturday, October 31, 2015

“... One Supreme Court...”

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Any time members of Congress start discussing the constitutionality of something, as they have endlessly with President Obama’s executive orders and as they did again during the ninth investigation into the events that unfolded in Benghazi, the notion of “original intent” crops up.
 
Saturday, October 31, 2015

Our Afghan Insanity

Other Opinions Jack Segal America has been at war in Afghanistan for 14 years. Yet on October 15, President Obama informed us that he has decided to keep 9,800 American troops in the country for yet another year. He also decided to pass this failed mission onto his successor by keeping more than 5,600 troops there through 2017.
 
Saturday, October 24, 2015

The Politics of Growth

Other Opinions Scott Hardy As a preface to this column I should note that I am a lifelong resident of Traverse City who grew up inside the city limits of the town I love.
 
Saturday, October 24, 2015

Lanes and Docks and Lawsuits

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Perhaps they’re right, but they might have at least pretended to appreciate public input and the study. Dismissing both out of hand was unusually bad form. And we could have used a bit more information.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Crossed

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate “Spiritual, but not Religious” — Conviction or Cop-out?

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer Nothing in life prepared me for this moment. Though early in my ministry, I was no stranger to death and dying. This was different. Cutting into the body and maneuvering the suction wand, I saw, like never before…Apart from the Spirit of Life, we are no more than carcasses.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Interesting Times

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Soon-to-be former Speaker of the House John Boehner has stepped down from what has become one of the worst jobs in American politics. An old-fashioned dealmaker in the better sense of that phrase, Boehner found himself marooned between an uncooperative White House and an intransigent insurgency in his own party.
 
Saturday, October 17, 2015

Government by the Numbers: How About 1364.02 ?

Other Opinions Grant Parsons It might be time to review City government’s effectiveness. Traverse City has experienced a series of gaffs and catastrophes: 1) A $360,000 splash pad sprays sewage on kids; 2) A remodeled city marina electrocutes a swimmer; 3) A multimillion dollar...
 
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Nostalgists vs. Newbies

Other Opinions Christie Minervini Horizon Books and industrial waste on the property of the former Iron Works. The Grand Traverse Commons Redevelopment Corporation was considering bids to tear down historic Building 50, and the Warehouse District was a collection of run-down buildings sitting on contaminated land.
 
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Piling Up Teddy Bears

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle In fact, according to the Mass Shooting Tracker — and how hideous such a thing exists — there are more mass shootings — incidents in which four or more people are killed or wounded — annually than there are days on the calendar; already more than 300 this year.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Embrace Imperfect Produce

Other Opinions Tricia Phelps, Taste the Local Difference The storm that tore across Leelanau and Grand Traverse counties last month uprooted trees and damaged homes. But it also beat up a lot of locally grown produce, leaving it unable to meet our “perfect produce” standards.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Plenty to Talk About

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Municipal elections are typically more civil affairs, at least in part because the candidates actually live among and interact with the citizens they serve. There is reason to believe that will be the case again this year with reasonable candidates for each available office.
 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Ike Warned Us

Other Opinions Jack Segal As President Dwight Eisenhower (“Ike”) left office in January 1961, he gave a speech that was meant as a warning to the American people. It was little-noticed at the time as the nation shifted its attention to the dynamic new president, John F. Kennedy (JFK).
 
Saturday, September 26, 2015

E Pluribus Unum

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian The Great Seal of the United States contains only three words: E Pluribus Unum: from many, one. It was a brilliant use of language. At the base it represented the coming together of several independent states to create one nation. But it went deeper. In Europe countries were small; they had unique languages and cultures.
 
 
Close
Close
Close