Letters

Letters 05-30-2016

Oaks & Moths All of last week’s letters regarding recommendations for the best native plants from “Listen to the Experts” from the previous week were right on target. Those who are interested in learning more about native plants, and their importance to birds, bees and butterflies, would do well to read Dr. Douglas Tallamy’s wonderful book, Bringing Nature Home...

Poor Grades On Standardized Testing We have been enduring standardized testing for the last few weeks as our district isn’t allowing for opting out without student removal. I think other parents need to know and the district needs to address their own inconsistencies in policy...

Beware Trump  To describe Trump: hubristic, narcissistic, misogynistic, sociopathic. There are more descriptors. Should we pity this misfit or fear that his values attract such a large segment of our society? Hitler was spawned in the ferment of economic unrest...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, August 22, 2015

No Debate

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle It’s less than a month until the next Republican presidential debate extravaganza but you still have time to make plans. And the organizers of these things still have time to create something meaningful instead of the ten-ring circus we saw last time..
 
Saturday, August 22, 2015

Prisoners of War in the Michigan Gulag

Other Opinions Grant Parsons Right-wing politicians use imprisonment as the answer to poverty, mental illness, addiction… you name it. Taxpayers are stuck with the cost – the wasteful cost of warehousing non-violent people who otherwise might be sentenced to community service or rehab.
 
Friday, August 14, 2015

Move Beyond Controversy And Embrace Public Art

Other Opinions Christie Minervini

Nearly eighteen years later, our community has a YMCA of which we can be proud and festival opportunities have quadrupled. But public art? Still lacking, and I think I know why. You might recall the controversy surrounding Dewey Blocksma’s “River Guardian” proposed public art piece in 1999. About 12-feet from its base, the figure’s shoulders are made of an aluminum canoe, the head created with a rounded piece of weathered wood, and eyes represented by seashells.

 
Friday, August 14, 2015

Fooling Mother Nature

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

Food activists have zeroed in on their next target: Genetically modified organisms (GMO; it’s plural). They must be labeled, we’re told, because we don’t know if they’re safe.

It must be true because Neil Young has written a song about it and Gwynyth Paltrow has declared it to be so (Ms. Paltrow also believes the molecular structure of water changes depending on whether you’re nice or mean to it. Seriously).

 
Saturday, August 8, 2015

High Rises, Piers and Dead Fawns

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle One would think TC would have some kind of height ordinance for its downtown area so these debates would be easily resolved. Oh wait, there is exactly such an ordinance that restricts building height to 60 feet, five or six stories depending on how the thing is constructed.
 
Saturday, August 8, 2015

Afghanistan’s Elusive Peace

Other Opinions Jack Segal Omar went underground in 2001 and fled to Pakistan. With a $10 million bounty on his head and U.S. drones buzzing 24/7 over his reputed hideout in Pakistan, he had not appeared in public since his escape.
 
Friday, July 31, 2015

What Would You Do?

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

Apparently the deal hammered out to slow down Iran’s nuclear weapons program was a terrible mistake for which Barack Obama is to blame. In a none-too-shocking development, all 16 Republican presidential candidates have roundly criticized the agreement as feckless, reckless and a death knell for Israel. Mike Huckabee, low single-digits in the polls and desperate for attention, went so far as to declare Obama was leading Israelis “to the door of the oven.”

 
Friday, July 31, 2015

The “Real Man’s” Traverse City

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian We love Traverse City just the way it is. We’re not embarrassed that a popular restaurant has FouFou in the title. It’s fine that the 300 block of E. Front has been taken over by women in yoga wear, even if, to us, a yoga mat looks like a nice place to nap. But where is the stuff for guys? A stand-up paddleboard in open water would spell certain death, and no one wants to see us doing Zumba at 9:00am in the Open Space.
 
Saturday, July 25, 2015

Sublime to Ridiculous

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

The 11th Traverse City Film Festival is upon us. This is a good thing. It’s an especially good thing if you enjoy movies you would not otherwise have a chance to see. And if you enjoy talking movies with people you wouldn’t otherwise meet.

 
Saturday, July 25, 2015

We Get What They Pay For

Other Opinions Mark Pontoni During the 2014 election cycle, it was pretty obvious there were not many talented candidates running for office in northern Michigan. With the exception of Betsy Coffia, Wayne Schmidt, and Jerry Cannon, there was very little upon which to evaluate candidates.
 
Friday, July 17, 2015

Will You Get Mad With Me?

Other Opinions Carlin Smith Normally I use the precious opportunity of writing this commentary as a means to share the virtues of my beloved Petoskey, where I live and work. Rest assured, Petoskey is having a robust summer like most northern Michigan communities. Tourism is alive and well, and our resorters have returned to their summer cottages.
 
Friday, July 17, 2015

The Donald vs. The Bernie

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Donald Trump “loves the Mexicans” despite claiming their government is “sending us” rapists and murderers. He claims we currently have no border and he will build an “impenetrable wall” and make Mexico pay for it. Yes we do, no you won’t, no they won’t.
 
Friday, July 10, 2015

Of Potholes and Parking

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We’re sorry about the streets. Our local road commissions do what they can with the budgets they have and the short window of opportunity the weather presents to repair or rebuild streets. The crews work pretty hard trying to keep pace with overwhelming need.
 
Friday, July 10, 2015

How Much For Defense?

Other Opinions Jack Segal July is a busy time on Capitol Hill as Congress considers the final round of appropriations decisions for the FY 2016 Federal Budget. In twelve major bills, our representatives are debating how to spend $3.8 trillion dollars next year. That’s not a typo — $3,800,000,000,000.
 
Monday, July 6, 2015

Pick a New Fight

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle That was quite a reaction from the Republican presidential candidates to recent Supreme Court decisions that didn’t go their way. They shouldn’t have been surprised by either. In the decision that affirmed another key element of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), even Chief Justice John Roberts became a sixth vote with the majority.
 
 
Close
Close
Close