Letters

Letters 08-22-2016

Historically Wrong In regard to Mary Keyes Rogers’ column about the downtown charter amendment, neither Samuel Adams nor Thomas Jefferson were at the Constitutional Convention...

The Film Possibilities I was surprised that none of the Traverse City Film Festival films addressed the most pressing and dangerous issue of the day: radical Islamic Jihad. Perhaps a storyline could have illustrated how the West brought this on themselves, or if we could only find jobs for those fellows! Perhaps put it down to global warming...

Helmets Save Lives The facts are in. Wearing a helmet is the most effective tool to save your brain in a motorcycle accident. The bonus? Helmets also save hearts. Nearly two yrs ago, on Aug. 26, 2014 our son lived...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Friday, October 2, 2015

Ike Warned Us

Other Opinions Jack Segal As President Dwight Eisenhower (“Ike”) left office in January 1961, he gave a speech that was meant as a warning to the American people. It was little-noticed at the time as the nation shifted its attention to the dynamic new president, John F. Kennedy (JFK).
 
Saturday, September 26, 2015

E Pluribus Unum

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian The Great Seal of the United States contains only three words: E Pluribus Unum: from many, one. It was a brilliant use of language. At the base it represented the coming together of several independent states to create one nation. But it went deeper. In Europe countries were small; they had unique languages and cultures.
 
Saturday, September 26, 2015

Fear Not

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Dr. Ben Carson, who really should know better, says he doesn't think a Muslim should be president because their religion isn't compatible with our constitution. Uh huh. If such a thing existed, Dr. Carson would surely be nominated for the Nobel Prize for irony.
 
Saturday, September 19, 2015

The Unintended Cost of Being Popular

Other Opinions Todd Manns Sound familiar? It should. Escalating home prices in TC are on an upward trend I only wish existed for my 401k. Interestingly, most real estate purchases are off the waterfront, with 82 percent of home sales April–June occurring inland and the largest number of non-waterfront homes for sale priced above $400,000.
 
Saturday, September 19, 2015

Bibles and Billionaires

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Kim Davis, America’s most famous county clerk, was out of jail and back at work last week, once again sounding like a weiner commercial talking about answering to a higher authority. And abdicating her legal responsibility to issue marriage licenses..
 
Saturday, September 19, 2015

Crossed

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer There are still pastors who use fear and guilt, shame and self-loathing, to convict and convert. However, they’re not the benchmark for Christian theology. There are those who don’t believe in lunar landings, but their beliefs do not define our discussion of space science.
 
Friday, September 11, 2015

Michael A. Cathcart

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

Monday, September 21 is the 30th annual International Day of Peace. World leaders will pay lip service and nothing more.

In Traverse City, the festivities will take place on the more convenient Saturday before, starting at the Clinch Park beach at 8am. There will be a march, there will be signs, there will be speeches. Hope for elusive peace will be the theme (and if previous years experience is a guide, there will also be people protesting those asking for peace. You would have to ask them why).

 
Friday, September 11, 2015

Making Division Street Slower, Steadier and Safer

Other Opinions Christie Minervini More than 25,000 vehicles pass along this highway every day, often competing with pedestrians and bicyclists trying to cross. Transportation officials say more than 400 accidents have occurred on the street over the last five years. Most agree it’s a dangerous corridor and serious changes need to happen.
 
Friday, September 4, 2015

The New Orleans Folly

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We’ve congratulated them on their recovery and bemoaned the fact that so many are still displaced; New Orleans’ population is about 40 percent smaller than it was immediately before Katrina, and tens of thousands of homes and businesses remain unoccupied and uninhabitable.
 
Friday, September 4, 2015

Helping the Middle East

Other Opinions Jack Segal A tragedy of historic proportions has been unfolding in Syria and Iraq for over four years. Estimates of the number killed range to as many as 330,000, with over 1.5 million wounded and about 7 million driven from their homes as “internally displaced persons” or refugees.
 
Friday, August 28, 2015

Buses and Buildings and Babies

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle

Next week the yellow buses will once again be among us.

More than 70 percent of northern Michigan school children will be riding those buses. Their safety will be in the hands of the courageous men and women who drive them (yes, courageous. You try driving up to 70 children twice a day, five days a week and then tell me that doesn’t require courage) and the motorists who interact with them.

 
Friday, August 28, 2015

About a Girl

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian My view on abortion changed on July 17, 1994 at about 1:30 in the afternoon. It might be time for the rest of the country to catch up. On July 17, at about 28–29 weeks, because she was in distress, my daughter was born by caesarian section. She weighed 2.5 pounds. With help of a breakthrough synthetic surfactant she was able to breathe on her own in just a few hours. Her will to live was strong...
 
Saturday, August 22, 2015

No Debate

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle It’s less than a month until the next Republican presidential debate extravaganza but you still have time to make plans. And the organizers of these things still have time to create something meaningful instead of the ten-ring circus we saw last time..
 
Saturday, August 22, 2015

Prisoners of War in the Michigan Gulag

Other Opinions Grant Parsons Right-wing politicians use imprisonment as the answer to poverty, mental illness, addiction… you name it. Taxpayers are stuck with the cost – the wasteful cost of warehousing non-violent people who otherwise might be sentenced to community service or rehab.
 
Friday, August 14, 2015

Move Beyond Controversy And Embrace Public Art

Other Opinions Christie Minervini

Nearly eighteen years later, our community has a YMCA of which we can be proud and festival opportunities have quadrupled. But public art? Still lacking, and I think I know why. You might recall the controversy surrounding Dewey Blocksma’s “River Guardian” proposed public art piece in 1999. About 12-feet from its base, the figure’s shoulders are made of an aluminum canoe, the head created with a rounded piece of weathered wood, and eyes represented by seashells.

 
 
Close
Close
Close