Letters 11-30-2015

“Snapshots” of Islam Offensive  In his latest effort (Northern Express Nov. 23 - Nov. 29, 2015,) David Kachadurian provides a jumble of FYI disclosures pertaining to Islam and Muslim societies, and posing as if providing a public service announcement, he advises the readers to ponder their import and to “make of them what you will.”

Not Another War To these people who believe we need to be at war in the Middle East all the time: try thinking about getting the countries that are in the area to take care of these bad guys instead of us. We are almost in constant war and have been as long as most can remember...

The Unvaccinated Are Punished Pulling healthy children from school due to a so called “outbreak” of a mild childhood illness isn’t for the safety of the community, as we’re being led to believe. It’s to prove a point that the health department will follow through on their threats to exclude the unvaccinated from all school related events, whenever they see fit...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

Monday, November 1, 2010

The greatest baseball player of all time

Other Opinions George Foster As the 2010 World Series winds down, you and I are once again left to
debate that centuries-old dilemma: who really is the greatest baseball
player to ever trod the earth?
Babe Ruth was famous for his power-hitting (and power-living), Ty Cobb
had the best career batting average, and pitcher Cy Young won over 500
games in his long and storied career. We youngsters might put our vote
in for Alex Rodriquez, Barry Bonds, or Roger Clemens.
Monday, October 25, 2010

TCL&P: Vote No on Prop 1

Other Opinions Mike Coco TCL&P: Vote No on Prop 1
By Mike Coco
On November 2, Traverse City voters will be asked to make a radical
change to the City Charter, our constitution, regarding Traverse City
Light & Power (“TCL&P”).
TCL&P has received the message that many people in our community are
passionate about having a thoughtful energy plan that reflects our
community’s values. This includes addressing energy use and
generation in a more environmentally conscious and sustainable way.
As the current board chairman, I assure you that the TCL&P board
embraces and welcomes this community discussion. We have not performed
well recently in our public engagement; we are working to do better.
Monday, October 25, 2010

Please don‘t vote

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Please Don‘t Vote
Please don’t vote. No, seriously. Why bother?
Let’s face it – all the candidates for every office are either
worthless or no better than the other guy or gal. We know this
because we’ve been told that for months now. One party is pretty much
just like the other and neither side seems to have more than an ounce
or two of common sense. Many of you are now counting on some tea party
candidate, or sympathizer, to really stir things up, restore the
Constitution, cut spending reduce taxes, blah, blah, blah. Or you
want some liberal to maintain or expand social services, tax the rich,
end the war, blah, blah, blah.
Monday, October 18, 2010

My opponent is a bum

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle My Opponent is a Bum
All right. We get it.
All the candidates currently advertising on television are bums. We
know this because their opponents have told us over and over and over
again ad nauseam.
Monday, October 18, 2010

TC: A beacon of light for medical marijuana patients

Other Opinions Bob Heflin TC: a beacon of light for medical marijuana patients
By Bob Heflin
The Northern Express recently ran a story about a “climate of fear”
among area medical marijuana patients. After speaking to local
authorities, the Traverse City Compassion Club learned that medical
marijuana is not a high police priority at this time in Grand Traverse
County, although recent arrests do include a patient growing over
their limits, and someone growing without patient certification.
Monday, October 11, 2010

Indefensible Spending

Other Opinions By Stephen Tuttle Do you really want less government spending? Then let’s take a close
look at the defense department.
Department of Defense requests for the 2011 fiscal year are $721
billion. A tidy sum. That doesn’t even include non-military
intelligence operations, the VA, veteran’s pensions, Homeland Security
and a host of other defense-related expenditures. When those are
added the defense budget swells to about $1.2 trillion.
There might be some waste in there.
Monday, October 4, 2010

Reforming the educational reformers

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Reforming the education reformers
Education reform is suddenly all the rage. It seems our public schools
are failing. This is apparently some kind of revelation for the
reporters and politicians, though our schools have been on a downward
slide for about three decades.
Monday, September 27, 2010

Coming political changes won‘t change much

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Coming Political Changes Won’t Change Much
With the elections barely five weeks away, it’s clearly time for
prognosticating, at least in general terms. There’s no good reason to
wait. Better to be wrong now and hope you’ll have forgotten it all by
election night.
Monday, September 20, 2010

The tax hike that isn‘t

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The tax hike that isn’t
It seems we’re going to be whacked with a staggering $3.8 trillion tax
hike. At least that’s what the leaders of the Republican party keep
telling us. And what possible reason could they have for wanting to
deceive us less than seven weeks before the national mid-term
Monday, September 13, 2010

Blaming the government for everything

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Blaming the government for everything
Whose fault is this, anyway?
If we listen to some folks, like those who recently gathered in
Washington, D.C., to celebrate Glenn Beck’s evangelical coming out
party, it’s the government that has caused this entire economic mess.
They created it and we need to cut them down to size in order to fix
what they have wrought. Less government, lower taxes, then everything
will be all right, again. (Never mind that at the federal level more
than 95% of us are already paying lower taxes.)
Monday, September 13, 2010

Say goodbye to the Bobbie Layne curse

Other Opinions George Foster Say goodbye to the Bobby Layne curse
If you have been a die-hard Detroit
Lions football fan over the last 50 years (unbelievably, there are a
few of us), don’t bother reading this column.
As for the rest of the football fans out there, I do understand your
skepticism over any mention that the Lions team will be good in our
lifetime – but you are wrong. Beware: if you read further you risk
joining those of us who see bluer skies ahead for Detroit Lions
football – Honolulu blue.
Monday, August 30, 2010

New Constitution a bad idea

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle New Constitution a Bad Idea
Michigan’s November ballot will include a proposition asking us whether or not we wish to convene a Constitutional Convention in order to rewrite the state’s constitution. To suggest this is a bad idea is roughly akin to suggesting nuclear weapons might cause a little damage.
Our state constitution, one of the youngest in the country, was written in 1963. One article requires us to evaluate the document every 16 years and vote as to whether or not we want to rewrite it. In 1978, 78% of us said “no”. In 1994, 72% again rejected the idea. So, here it is again.
How does this process work? The devil really is in the details.
Monday, August 23, 2010

Protecting the 14th Amendment

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Protecting the 14th Amendment
The first sentence of the 14th Amendment to the United States
Constitution reads: “All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein they reside.” Crisp, clean and
easy to understand. It is now under attack.
Monday, August 23, 2010

Worst sports cheats of all time

Other Opinions George Foster Worst sports cheats of all time
As the accusations pile up against cyclist Lance Armstrong for using
performance-enhancing drugs, sports fans are left wondering if there
are any modern athletes who have achieved success without banned
Monday, August 16, 2010

The Mosque at Ground Zero

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The Mosque at Ground Zero
There is a plan afoot to remodel an already existing structure in New
York City as a mosque and community center. It is two blocks from
ground zero. The opposition to it is loud, growing and misplaced.
The arguments go like this: it’s too close to ground zero, the
feelings are still too raw, it was Muslims who attacked the World
Trade Centers, blah, blah, blah.