Letters

Letters 11-28-2016

Trump should avoid self-dealing President-elect Donald Trump plans to turn over running of The Trump Organization to his children, who are also involved in the transition and will probably be informal advisers during his administration. This is not a “blind trust.” In this scenario Trump and family could make decisions based on what’s best for them rather than what’s best for the country...

Trump the change we need?  I have had a couple of weeks to digest the results of this election and reflect. There is no way the selection of Trump as POTUS could ever come close to being normal. It is not normal to have a president-elect settle a fraud case for millions a couple of months before the inauguration. It is not normal to have racists considered for cabinet posts. It is not normal for a president-elect tweet outrageous comments on his Twitter feed to respond to supposed insults at all hours of the early morning...

Health care system should benefit all It is no secret that the health insurance situation in our country is controversial. Some say the Affordable Care Act is “the most terrible thing that has happened to our country in years”; others are thrilled that, “for the first time in years I can get and afford health insurance.” Those who have not been closely involved in the medical field cannot be expected to understand how precarious the previous medical insurance structure was...

Christmas tradition needs change The Christmas light we need most is the divine, and to receive it we do not need electricity, probably only prayers and good deeds. But not everyone has this understanding, as we see in the energy waste that follows with the Christmas decorations...

CORRECTIONS & CLARIFICATIONS 

A story in last week’s edition about parasailing businesses on East Grand Traverse Bay mistakenly described Grand Traverse Parasail as a business that is affiliated with the ParkShore Resort. It operates from a beach club two doors down from the resort. The story also should have noted that prior to the filing of a civil lawsuit in federal court by Saburi Boyer and Traverse Bay Parasail against Bryan Punturo and the ParkShore Resort, a similar lawsuit was dismissed from 13th Circuit Court in Traverse City upon a motion from the defendant’s attorney. Express regrets the error and omission.

A story in last week’s edition about The Fillmore restaurant in Manistee misstated Jacob Slonecki’s job at Arcadia Bluffs Golf Course. He was a cook. Express regrets the error.

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

Truth Is In That Grave

Other Opinions Grant Parsons Just outside Washington, D.C., at Quantico National Cemetery, civilian and military volunteers walk between the rows of gravestones with armloads of pine wreaths tied with red bows. The grass green, the sky blue, the ranks of gravestones straight and true — sentinels, sentinels, sentinels silent now.
 
Saturday, January 9, 2016

A League Of His Own

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle The majority group believes his poll numbers are overstated, a result of researchers using a target universe including all Republican voters instead of those most likely to vote. On the other side are those now claiming Trump’s support is understated because many of his supporters are embarrassed to admit it.
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

Questions 2016

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle While some are resolving to do — or not do — all manner of things they won’t end up doing — or stop doing — the New Year seems a more likely time for questions. As always, there are plenty of them..
 
Saturday, January 2, 2016

The Checkbook And Calendar Never Lie

Other Opinions Christie Minervini With the New Year upon us, I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on the notion of “voting with our dollars.” This was again brought to light when Traverse City’s Bill Marsh Automotive Group pulled its United Way employee giving program because it learned that Planned Parenthood was a grant recipient.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Make A Wish

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian It’s the season to dream. Children everywhere imagine the toys and treats on Christmas, yet parents walk a careful line. We want our children to have the joy of surprise and magical feelings of granted wishes. It’s a delight to watch young children discover gifts they never imagined.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Safest Place for Christmas

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle We seem to have almost made it to Christmas without those darned liberals trying to kill it. At least they are accused of attempting to do so every year around this time. Since no one is trying to kill it this year, we’ve been mercifully spared any books by anyone claiming to save it.
 
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Free to Choose

Other Opinions Jack Segal I was in Los Angeles recently and found my way to the “Museum of Tolerance,” a beautiful complex in West L.A. that also houses the Simon Wiesenthal Center. Outside, a line of beat-up Los Angeles County school buses were parked, having brought loads of inner city kids to the museum to learn about this complicated issue of “tolerance.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

A Modest Proposal

Other Opinions Grant Parsons You swallow that nonsense about Hitler’s victims going meekly? Well, the NRA has made U.S. citizens meek. The assault weapon, a human-killing machine, is sold everywhere. We can’t ban this retail product, sold for profit, that kills cops and kids indiscriminately, repeatedly, horribly, predictably, time-after-time, because the NRA won’t let us.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

But You Didn't Know

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle For example, I’ll bet you didn’t know the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has conducted no research on gun violence and its injurious consequences since 1996, despite a consensus that such violence represents a genuine public health threat.
 
Saturday, December 12, 2015

A Local Pastor and a Local Atheist Debate UnCrossed: Let’s Welcome, Not Reject Refugees

Other Opinions Rev. Dr. William C. Myers, Gary Singer The question for Christians is not: Is it safe to care for refugees? The question is: How shall we care for refugees safely? Those responsible for providing aid and assisting refugee families in resettlement must do everything possible to keep the process safe.
 
Saturday, December 5, 2015

Gop Clown Car Isn’t Funny Any More

Other Opinions Mark Pontoni The bizarre GOP primary season has caused a lot of head scratching on my head that is already over-scratched. It’s far too simple to dismiss the long list of candidates as silly or stupid; that doesn’t really help us understand what has happened to the Republican Party.
 
Saturday, December 5, 2015

Ignoring Reality

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Except we’re actually experiencing a net annual reduction in the number of illegal immigrants according to Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). More are leaving voluntarily or being deported than are arriving. More like a backwash than a flood.
 
Saturday, November 28, 2015

The Visual Arts In Northern Michigan And What To Do About It

Other Opinions Delbert Michel I have seen good galleries come and go very quickly, having to shift from showing serious and challenging forms of art to works that have an easy tourist appeal. Such works often focus on subjects that are readily understood but not necessarily artistic in nature.
 
Saturday, November 28, 2015

More War

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle A group of murderers claiming affiliation with ISIS or ISIL or ISI, or whatever it is we’re calling them now, massacred 130 people in various locations in Paris — and since ISIL is in Syria, we’ll go to war in Syria, despite the fact that none of the attackers in Paris were Syrian; they were all European nationals.
 
Saturday, November 21, 2015

The Religion of Peace

Other Opinions Thomas Kachadurian The following are facts related to Islam; make of them what you will.
 
 
Close
Close
Close