Letters

Letters 08-03-2015

Real Brownfields Deserve Dollars I read with interest the story on Brownfield development dollars in the July 20 issue. I applaud Dan Lathrop and other county commissioners who voted “No” on the Randolph Street project...

Hopping Mad Carlin Smith is hopping mad (“Will You Get Mad With Me?” 7-20-15). Somebody filed a fraudulent return using his identity, and he’s not alone. The AP estimates the government “pays more than $5 billion annually in fraudulent tax refunds.” Well, many of us have been hopping mad for years. This is because the number one tool Congress has used to fix this problem has been to cut the IRS budget –by $1.2 billion in the last 5 years...

Just Grumbling, No Solutions Mark Pontoni’s grumblings [recent Northern Express column] tell us much about him and virtually nothing about those he chooses to denigrate. We do learn that Pontoni may be the perfect political candidate. He’s arrogant, opinionated and obviously dimwitted...

A Racist Symbol I have to respond to Gordon Lee Dean’s letter claiming that the confederate battle flag is just a symbol of southern heritage and should not be banned from state displays. The heritage it represents was the treasonous effort to continue slavery by seceding from a democratic nation unwilling to maintain such a consummate evil...

Not So Thanks I would like to thank the individual who ran into and knocked over my Triumph motorcycle while it was parked at Lowe’s in TC on Friday the 24th. The $3,000 worth of damage was greatly appreciated. The big dent in the gas tank under the completely destroyed chrome badge was an especially nice touch...

Home · Articles · News · Other Opinions

Other Opinions

 
Monday, January 18, 2010

Performance - based silliness

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Performance-based silliness
Children are our future. We know this not just because it’s so painfully
obvious but because political candidates tell us this every election
cycle. In fact, it’s one of the campaign clichés on which we can count,
election after election after election.
 
Monday, January 18, 2010

‘Roids & baseball: Soap opers never ends

Other Opinions George Foster ‘Roids & Baseball: Soap opera never ends
Why is it that every time a Major League baseball star admits using
steroids, the sports world seems to erupt? By now we should be more
stunned when discovering a successful player from the 1980s or ‘90s DIDN’T
use performance-enhancing drugs.
 
Monday, January 11, 2010

Michigan sportsman of the decade

Other Opinions George Foster Back in the early days of Northern
Express, I used to write a regular sports column for the paper.
That was the era of the Bad Boy Pistons, the seemingly eternally inept
“Dead” Wings, and football star Mark Ingram, the father (MSU receiver and
Super Bowl hero), not the Heisman Trophy-winning son, Mark Ingram.
With the explosion of cable sports coverage and the Internet, it seems to
me that the public’s interest in sports and athletes has increased
dramatically in the last decade. Also, we’ve heard more and more readers
of the Express comment that the regular sports content of the past is
missed.
 
Monday, November 30, 2009

Guns on campus what‘s behind the debate?

Other Opinions Steven Dulan Guns on Campus What‘s behind the debate?
By Steven Dulan
House Bill 5474, co-sponsored by over two dozen Michigan legislators, would extend firearms preemption to college
campuses.
(“Preemption” means the law would make it impossible for universities to apply their own set of restrictions on firearms in lieu of the laws established by the State. - ed.)
This bill, widely viewed as a simple “clean-up” to clarify law statewide, has elicited some heated opposition. The bill would amend MCL Secs. 123.1101, 123.1102, and 123.1103 by adding “Institution of Higher Education” to the list of bodies prohibited from making their own gun law. Current law prevents any “Local unit of government” from making any laws taxing, or regulating “...the ownership, registration, purchase, sale, transfer, transportation, or possession of pistols or other firearms...”
 
Monday, November 16, 2009

Wood Biomass is the opposite of Green Energy

Other Opinions Jeff Gibbs Wood Biomass is the Opposite of Green Energy
By Jeff Gibbs
Our community takes great pride in being exceptional stewards of the environment and leaders in the movement to stop global warming. But in the rush to find alternatives to fossil fuels—an effort I whole-heartedly endorse—not everything is as green as it seems. One option is in fact worse than fossil fuels.
It’s called biomass.
 
Monday, November 9, 2009

Afghanistan: They‘re fighting our war all alone

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Afghanistan: They‘re fighting our war all alone
Stephen Tuttle 11/9/09
Kristopher D. Rodgers.
Does that name ring a bell? No? That’s a shame.
Staff Sergeant Kristopher D. Rodgers, 29, of Sturgis, was killed in Afghanistan on August 16, 2008, when a roadside improvised explosive device (IED) detonated and destroyed his Humvee. He left behind a family, including his wife Selina and his then 3 1?2 year-old son, Kaden. Staff Sergeant Rodgers was the last Michigan resident killed in the conflicts in the Middle East at the time this column was written. It is unlikely he will be the last.
It’s not especially surprising we don’t remember those who have died in our name in Iraq or Afghanistan. As the local death toll rises – Michigan now accounts for 155 of our war dead and more than 1,000 of our wounded – we become less and less connected to the men and women we send to a part of the world most of us couldn’t find on a map.
 
Monday, November 2, 2009

Save our Public Access TV

Other Opinions Joe VanderMeulen Save Our Public Access TV
We have to fight for our right to produce community television
By Joe VanderMeulen 11/2/09

Once again, the value and viability of public access television in the Grand Traverse region and much of Michigan is threatened. This time, we face the hungry giant of a national corporation.
Having decided that it needs the band width and channel designations held by our community for nearly 15-plus years, Charter Communications, Inc. will banish /public access television (Up North 2) to the farthest reaches of the cable system. In fact, all of our public, education and government (or PEG) access channels will be given the highest number designations available in both the analog format (90s) and digital format (990s).
Charter Inc., the national internet/phone/cable corporation, is in a battle with other television content providers, including satellite and Internet delivery systems. At the same time, Charter is trying to come out of bankruptcy, after shedding hundreds of millions of dollars in debt while retaining hundreds of millions for its owners. To stay competitive and get geared up for the Christmas marketing season, Charter will soon shut down the analog television signals found at cable channels 2 and 13 and take that band width to create new digital channels.
 
Monday, October 19, 2009

October 24: Your day to speak out about climate change

Other Opinions Hans Voss October 24: Your Day to
Speak Out on Climate Change

By Hans Voss 10/19/09

How would you like to be part of what looks to be the biggest day of worldwide environmental action in history?
It happens Saturday, October 24 and Traverse City is an important part of this global event called the International Day of Climate Action. Locally, it starts at 1 p.m. at the Open Space and later moves to the Traverse City Opera House. We’ll gather for a huge group photo that will be beamed to Times Square and across the world.
It’s all meant to grab the attention of world leaders as they prepare to go to Copenhagen, Denmark in December to negotiate a new international climate treaty. And the climate day action seems to be working; at last check, there were 2,376 events planned in more than 153 countries for Saturday.
 
Monday, October 5, 2009

Sound, fury & nonsense in health care reform

Other Opinions Stephen Tuttle Sound, Fury & Nonsense
in Health Care Reform
By Stephen Tuttle 10/5/09

Are we having fun, yet?
What passes for the national debate on health care reform drones on and on with no end in sight. Nobody seems especially happy with any proposals suggested and everybody has successfully found something they absolutely despise. This, despite recent reports that health care costs under our current system have increased more than 100 percent in just the last 10 years, wildly surpassing inflation. Even worse, at the same time wages have stagnated or decreased. Health care affordability is becoming a fading memory.
 
Monday, September 28, 2009

An overdraft nightmare

Other Opinions Dominic R. Sondy An overdraft nightmare

By Dominic R. Sondy 9/28/09

I’ve found that it is a good idea to check my bank accounts on-line every day. I have to look because there are some aspects of modern banking that I cannot seem to grasp. An example would be: Why are deposits some kind of shimmering illusion, floating in electronic limbo for days, while debit purchases are firm reality instantly?
Since the logic of this eludes me, it’s more than a good idea that I check daily. Checking means that I’m less likely to accidentally violate some arbitrary bank rule.
I skipped August 24 and didn’t log-on until late in the day on Tuesday August 25, 2009. That was the day I discovered $200 in Non-sufficient funds fees had been applied to our personal checking account. My wife and I had to talk with Mandy.
 
Monday, September 7, 2009

Stuck in Guantanamo with no way out

Other Opinions H. Candace Gorman Stuck In Guantánamo
with no way out

By H. Candace Gorman 9/7/09

Perhaps you have read about Al-Ghizzawi over the years in Northern Express? I am a lawyer and Al-Ghizzawi is my client. However this is not a normal attorney/client relationship. You see, Al-Ghizzawi is a prisoner at Guantánamo and therefore none of the rules that usually affect the attorney-
client relationship are in play here.
When I meet with Al-Ghizzawi, I must turn over my notes to the military and the Department of Justice to read before they are returned to me. Al-Ghizzawi’s letters to me are read before I receive them and my letters to him are searched for contraband (staples, paperclips... and who knows what else? Words perhaps?)
 
Monday, July 27, 2009

A seaway to disaster

Other Opinions Jeff Alexander A Seaway to Disaster
50th anniversary is nothing to celebrate


By Jeff Alexander 7/27/09

In the waning days of June, dozens of dead seagulls began washing up on the Lake Michigan shoreline at Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore.
Scientists believe the birds were the latest victims of a botulism epidemic sweeping Great Lakes shorelines. The bacterium has killed more than 70,000 water birds over the past decade — including more than 8,000 iconic loons.
The latest bird die-off was minor compared to similar, previous events at Sleeping Bear Dunes and dozens of other Great Lakes beaches.
 
Monday, July 13, 2009

Green jobs: hope amid the hype

Other Opinions Andy Levin Green Jobs: Hope Amid the Hype
By Andy Levin 7/13/09

These days, it seems like the news is full of talk about green jobs. Here in Michigan, where we have lost thousands of good-paying jobs, the potential to leverage our water, wind, solar and advanced-manufacturing resources to create jobs makes the discussion about green jobs all the more exciting.
But how many green jobs actually exist? How can we create more of them? When can we expect a meaningful number of Michigan citizens to be working in the green economy?
In May, we started to answer these questions with the release of the Michigan Green Jobs Report, the first rigorous empirical study of the green economy in Michigan that includes specific green work in five areas:
1. agriculture and natural resources
2. clean transportation and fuels
3. increased energy efficiency
4. pollution prevention and environmental cleanup
5. renewable energy production
 
Monday, July 6, 2009

Its now or never for national healthcare

Other Opinions Karen Martin It‘s now or never
for national healthcare plan
By Karen Martin 7/6/09

It’s now or never, for those who support a single-payer health plan in the United States. The Democrats have the majority in both houses of Congress and they have the White House. If our representatives cannot step up, be bold, and give Americans what has been sought for over a century, when will there ever be a national healthcare plan?
 
Monday, July 6, 2009

The King is dead... get used to it

Other Opinions Ross Boissoneau The King is Dead...
... get used to it
By Ross Boissoneau 7/6/09

And in a news flash, Michael Jackson is still dead. So is Anna Nicole Smith.
Yes, it is news that Jackson died so suddenly and mysteriously. But the complete meltdown of the tabloid press – and the not-tabloid press – is so over-the-top as to be ridiculous.
 
 
Close
Close
Close